Jarius Lyles scored 32 points and had 20 rebounds as host UMBC finally pulled away from The Citadel in the second overtime for a 120-111 victory Monday night.

Lyles became the first UMBC player to score 30 points and have 20 rebounds in a Division I game. UMBC also set a school record for most points in a game, passing the previous high of 115 against Central Connecticut in 1992.


Jourdan Grant hit a layup to give UMBC a 102-100 lead to start the second overtime. The Retrievers never trailed again, making 14 free throws to seal the win. Will Darley (Dulaney) had 22 points and Joe Sherburne added 18 for UMBC (8-3). Nolan Gerrity had a career-best 17 points and 15 rebounds.

Lyles nailed a 3-pointer to give UMBC a 100-97 lead with 24 seconds left in the first overtime, but Quayson Williams answered with a 3 with 15 seconds remaining to send the game to the second extra period.

Preston Parks led The Citadel (7-6) with 24 points.

Ernie Graham focused on reunion with son, not 'upsetting' legacy of Terps scoring record

When Maryland travels to Baltimore for the second straight season to face Charlotte at Royal Farms Arena on Tuesday, Graham and his son Jon will be the game's honorary captains.

More men's basketball: Junior Robinson scored a game-high 20 points, but Mount St. Mary's fell to host Bucknell, 81-65. After trailing 40-32 at the half, the Mountaineers (1-11) were able to cut the deficit to 61-57 with 6:04 remaining, but the Bison (8-4) ended the game on a 15-2 run to secure the win. Robinson finished 5-for-8 from the field, 3-for-4 from 3-point range, and 7-for-7 at the free-throw line. Miles Wilson added 14 points and Elijah Long had 13 points, five rebounds and three steals for Mount St. Mary's.

- Sa'eed Nelson had 16 points and four steals, Mark Gasperini added 12 points and host American beat UMES, 61-58. Ryan Andino hit a long 3-pointer to pull UMES to 53-50, and after American missed a 3-pointer, a technical was called on the Eagles bench. Andino made the two free throws and Thomas Rivera sank a corner 3-pointer to cap the five-point possession for a 55-53 lead — UMES's first since 5-2. American's Delante Jones made two free throws with 21.8 seconds left for a 59-55 lead, and after a UMES turnover, Charlie Jones (Mount Saint Joseph) made one of two free throws for a five-point lead with 13 seconds left. Delante Jones finished with 11 points for American (3-7). Dontae Caldwell and Andino each scored 13 points for UMES (1-11), which lost its fourth straight.

Women's basketball: Adrienne Motley and Erykah Davenport scored 15 points apiece, and No. 11 Miami outscored Coppin State 16-2 in the fourth quarter for a 75-35 victory in the Miami Holiday Tournament. The Hurricanes led 59-33 after three quarters and held the Eagles to one free throw at the 6:18 mark of the fourth and another with 34 seconds left. Keena Samuels scored eight points for Coppin State (0-9), which is off to its worst start since the 2008-09 team also lost nine in a row. The Eagles finished that season strong, going 12-4 in Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference play and reaching the National Invitation Tournament. … Maryland senior center Brionna Jones (Aberdeen) received Big Ten Player of the Week honorable mention. … Loyola Maryland freshman guard Stephanie Karcz was named Patriot League Rookie of the Week.

Football: Towson senior punter Jake Ryder was selected a second-team Football Championship Subdivision All-American by the America Football Coaches Association.

Men's lacrosse: Towson named redshirt senior Brian Bolewicki (Calvert Hall), seniors Jack Adams (Hereford) and Ryan Drenner (Westminster) and sophomore Zach Goodrich captains.

Walkersville's Joe Polce named Ravens High School Coach of the Year

Walkersville's Joe Polce was named the Raven's High School Coach of the Year Sunday after leading the Lions to an undefeated season and their first state

Et cetera

Walkersville's Polce named Ravens Coach of the Year

Walkersville's Joe Polce was named the Ravens High School Coach of the Year after leading the Lions to an undefeated season and their first state championship in 29 years. The Lions defeated Elkton, 33-6, in the Class 2A title game at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis on Dec. 10 to finish off a 14-0 season. "A lot of these kids on the team this year were also on the team that lost in the championship game in 2015," Polce said in a statement. "That motivation of losing after being so close last year really pushed the kids in the offseason and during the entire season. They were driven and focused to not just get back to the title game, but to win it this year." In the playoffs, the Lions defeated Century and Middletown before pulling out their closest game of the season, 12-7, over Dunbar in the state semifinal. Polce received his award during halftime of the Ravens' victory over the Philadelphia Eagles at M&T Bank Stadium on Sunday and is the 20th Ravens Coach of the Year. He is the second Frederick County coach to be honored; the first was Linganore's Rick Conner in 2009. He won over nine other coaches selected as Ravens Coach of the Week during the regular season: Centennial's Carlos Dunmoodie, Winters Mill's Matt Miller, Randallstown's Ray Wright, Parkville's Justin Payne, Archbishop Spalding's Kyle Schmitt, Franklin's Anthony Burgos, Patterson Mill's Steve Lurz and Old Mill's Chad McCormick.

Katherine Dunn

NFL: The Indianapolis Colts put defensive tackle Art Jones, a former Raven, on injured reserve, ending his season. Since joining the Colts as a free agent in 2014, Jones has only played in 17 of 46 regular-season games — missing 25 with injuries and the first four of this season after violating the league's substance-abuse policy.

Major League Soccer: D.C. United re-signed veteran defender Sean Franklin to a multiyear contract. Franklin has made 82 appearances (80 starts) and played in 7,115 minutes over three seasons. In nine MLS seasons, he has eight goals and 26 assists.


Ice hockey: Goaltender Vitek Vanecek of the Hershey Bears, the American Hockey League affiliate of the Washington Captials, was selected AHL Player of the Week.

Harness racing: Always B Miki, the fastest pacer of all time, was named Horse of the Year. The 5-year-old easily outpolled 2015 Horse of the Year Wiggle It Jiggleit, 102-32, for the sport's highest honor in the voting by members of the U.S. Harness Writers Association. Trained by Hall of Famer Jimmy Takter, Always B Miki was also voted Pacer of the Year. Triple Crown winner Marion Marauder got Trotter of the Year honors in the closest vote in that category. He won by 73-72 over Hannelore Hanover.