Oregon quarterback and Heisman Trophy favorite Marcus Mariota has been named the winner of the 2014 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. The award is presented annually to "the nation's top quarterback who best exemplifies character, scholastic and athletic achievement."

The Honolulu native will be honored at a ceremony Friday in Baltimore, where ex-Colt Raymond Berry --Unitas' favorite target -- will deliver the keynote remarks.


The Golden Arm has been presented at the end of each college season since 1987. Candidates must be college seniors or fourth-year juniors on schedule to graduate with their class. In addition to the accomplishments on the field, they are judged on their character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, and leadership qualities.

This season, Mariota has completed 254 of 372 passes for 3,783 yards with 38 touchdowns and just two interceptions. He's also rushed for 669 yards and 14 touchdowns.

His No. 2 Ducks face No. 3 Florida State at the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1 with a trip to the national championship at stake.

"Marcus is as humble and gracious off the field as he is poised and electrifying on it," Oregon assistant athletic director Andy McNamara said in a statement. "He is an exceptional ambassador for not just the football program, but the University of Oregon as a whole."

Past Golden Arm Award winners include Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Carson Palmer (USC, 2002), Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003), Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011).

Alabama's AJ McCarron won the award last year.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun