Terps' Reese, Salisbury's Nestor named IWLCA national coaches of the year

After guiding their teams to national championships, Maryland's Cathy Reese and Salisbury's Jim Nestor were named national coaches of the year Monday by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches' Association.

Reese led the No. 1 Terps to their second championship in five years and earned her second Division I Coach of the Year honor. She was also honored after the Terps won in 2010.

Nestor earned his second straight Division III Coach of the Year award after guiding the No. 1 Sea Gulls to their second straight national title. This is his fourth honor, also taking the award in 2005 and 2010.

Reese, a former Terps All-American who played lacrosse at Mount Hebron, guided the Terps to a 23-1 season this spring that included their sixth straight Atlantic Coast Conference championship and 14 wins over teams ranked in the Top 20. Three of those wins came over No. 2 Syracuse, including in the national title game and in the ACC final. Reese also earned ACC Coach of the Year for the seventh time. She has a 162-17 record in eight seasons as Terps head coach.

Nestor, a Laurel native who played lacrosse at Salisbury, coached the Sea Gulls to a 23-1 season that included their 12th straight Capital Athletic Conference championship. He has been named CAC Coach of the Year nine times as the Sea Gulls have won 103 straight conference games. He has a 244-25 record in 13 years with the Sea Gulls. 

Adelphi coach Rob Grella was named Division II Coach of the Year.

Johns Hopkins coach Janine Tucker was named the Division I Mid-Atlantic Region Coach of the Year while Boston College coach Acacia Walker, a former Maryland All-American, was the Northeast Region Coach of the Year. Lousiville coach Kellie Young earned the honor for the West/Midwest Region.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad