Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

Touchdown with 2.6 seconds left gives Baltimore Mariners American Indoor Football championship title

After having trailed by 18 points with 10 minutes remaining, a last-gasp touchdown by Aaron Yarbough propelled the Baltimore Mariners past the Cape Fear Heroes, 45-44, on Saturday night to win the 2014 American Indoor Football championship in Fayetteville, N.C. The title-winning pass came from Richard Johnson, normally a defensive back, who filled in at quarterback after injuries to both of the team's top two players at the position. The Heroes led after each of the first three quarters. "In arena football, it's a lot of scoring," head coach Ron Meehan said. "Anything can happen. I just told the guys to keep fighting." With 11.3 seconds left, Cape Fear turned the ball over on downs, and Johnson hit Yarbough on his third end-zone heave with just over two seconds on the clock. The championship came in the Mariners' first season since they suspended play in 2010, when then-owner Dwayne Wells was arrested on charges of wire fraud. "It was big for a lot of reasons," Meehan said.

Ryan Bacic

Local news

Cedar Lane park gets state-of-the-art scoreboard

Cedar Lane Regional Park, a popular venue for soccer and lacrosse tournaments in Bel Air, plans to unveil a new, state-of-the-art electronic scoreboard on Saturday. The 20-foot-tall scoreboard, manufactured and installed by Daktronics, has a 9-by-17 video display area, along with two 3-by-8 speakers. The scoreboard is located at Cedar Lane's only turf field, but has the capability to display scores from each of the 13 fields. It also can reflect activities from any other field in the complex. "It's been in the process for a couple of years," said John McHugh, executive director of the Cedar Lane Sports Foundation. "We've been talking to them as we've grown, and we nailed down what they could do that would make the most impact in the community." Cedar Lane Regional Park first opened in 2008, and has grown into a leading venue for soccer and lacrosse tournaments. To celebrate the new scoreboard, Cedar Lane plans to make a contribution to the Cancer LifeNet support services at the Kaufman Cancer Center in Bel Air for each goal scored during this weekend's Inception Lacrosse Tournament.

Cody Goodwin


Hale victorious in IHRA Nitro Jam's return to area

In front of a crowd eager for the return of nitro Saturday, John Hale drove the "Mike Burkhart"-tribute Nitro Funny Car to the win at the 20th annual IHRA Nitro Jam President's Cup Nationals at Maryland International Raceway in Budds Creek. "These past few months have been very frustrating for myself and for my team. I often tell people, you may lose your job, your house may burn down, you may wreck your car, but the people that rebound from adveristy the quickest are always the most successful," Hale said. "I just made it my goal to rebound from this, get this thing off my back, and win a race. And that is exactly what we did here this weekend." Joining Hale in the winner's circle was John Konigshofer, who pulled the upset bid in Mountain Motor Pro Stock for the second race in a row, along with Mike Scott (Nitro Harley), Don Blackshear (Nitro Altered) and Elaine Larsen (Jet Dragster). Sportsman winners during Saturday's Summit Racing Equipment Pro-Am Tour were Kathy Gallo (Top Sportsman), Bobby Spence (Top Dragster), Kevin Clark (Super Stock), Bill Bricker (Stock), Jake Milstead (Quick Rod), Keith Mayers (Super Rod) and Robert Robertson (Hot Rod).


Marylanders inch closer to Citi Open wild-card berth

Francis Tiafoe, 16, of Riverdale Park advanced to the quarterfinals in the local qualifying tournament for the Citi Open on Sunday, beating Ryan Lundergan of Ellicott City in the morning, 6-1, 6-0, and then George Catledge of Roanoke, Va., 6-1, 6-2, later in the day. The tournament's top seed, Tiafoe will next take on Jacob Walker of Bethesda for a spot in the semifinals. Patrick Daciek, a former Virginia Tech player who graduated from Severna Park, is seeded second in the draw and moved into the quarterfinals Sunday with a three-set win over No. 9 seed Harrison O'Keefe. Diacek's next opponent will be Vanderbilt graduate Vijay Paul of Washington. Winners of the men's and women's singles titles will receive a wild-card entry in a two-day qualifier held July 26-27, immediately before the Citi Open begins July 28 at the William H.G. FitzGerald Tennis Center in Washington.

Liz Clarke and Kelyn Soong, The Washington Post

Et cetera

Host Mystics fall to Atlanta, 75-67, 4th defeat in 5 games

After starting their season 4-2, the Washington Mystics suffered their fourth defeat in five games with a 75-67 loss to the visiting Atlanta Dream. Angela McCoughtry (St. Frances) and Erika DeSouza scored 16 points apiece to pace Atlanta (7-3), which had four players score in double digits. Guard Bria Hartley led the way for Washington (5-6) with 13 points, five rebounds and four assists.

College baseball: Frostburg State junior third baseman Zach Weiss (Anne Arundel Community College, Chesapeake-AA) was named to the ECAC Division III South All-Star first team. Salisbury junior pitcher Brett Collacchi and junior outfielder Kyle Hayman made the second team.

College softball: Salisbury, which lost in the Division III championship game, finished second in the National Fastpitch Coaches Association's final coaches poll.

College sailing: St. Mary's seniors Fletcher Sims (Broadneck), Joshua Greenslade and Kelley Merryman (Severn) were named to the All-America team.

From Sun staff and news services

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad