Terps, Hopkins to host first two Big Ten men's lacrosse tournaments

The Big Ten's two newest additions for men's lacrosse will host the first two conference tournaments, the organization announced Thursday.

The 2015 men’s tournament will be held April 30 to May 2 at Maryland's Byrd Stadium in College Park; the 2016 tournament will take place from May 5-7 at Johns Hopkins' Homewood Field.

On the women's side, the 2015 tournament will take place at Rutgers from April 30 to May 3, and the following year it will be held at Johns Hopkins from May 5-8.

The men’s tournament will feature a four-team field, with two semifinal matches Thursday and the championship game Saturday. The women's tournament will include all six conference programs, with two quarterfinal matches Thursday. The top two seeds will receive byes to Friday’s semifinals, followed by the championship Sunday.

In June 2013, the Big Ten announced the addition of men’s and women’s lacrosse as the conference’s 27th and 28th sports, and that Johns Hopkins had been accepted as an affiliate member for men’s lacrosse beginning with the 2015 season. Big Ten competition in both men’s and women’s lacrosse will feature Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers, with Johns Hopkins participating in men's lacrosse and Northwestern competing in women's lacrosse.

Maryland and Rutgers are set to officially join the Big Ten on July 1.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad