THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

Two Terps get All-Freshman recognition in baseball

Maryland pitcher Mike Shawaryn and second baseman Brandon Lowe were named to the 2014 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Freshman All-America team. The honor comes five days after the two players were named to the 2014 Louisville Slugger Freshman All-America team. Shawaryn, a first-team selection, and Lowe, a second-team honoree, are the first Maryland players to be named to the NCBWA Freshman All-America team. Shawaryn leads the Atlantic Coast Conference with 11 wins this season and has a 3.12 ERA and 72 strikeouts in 921/3 innings. Lowe, a redshirt freshman, leads the Terps and ranks second in the ACC with a .348 batting average. A third team All-ACC selection, he leads the team in on-base percentage, slugging percentage and triples. He also has 42 RBIs, tied with Jose Cuas for a team high.

Women's lacrosse: Maryland rising junior Taylor Cummings (McDonogh) was named Division I Midfielder of the Year by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association on Saturday. Cummings already had been named the winner of the Tewaaraton Award and Honda Sports Award, as well as Most Valuable Player of the NCAA tournament for the national-champion Terps. Rising senior Megan Douty, a Tewaaraton finalist, was named Defender of the Year. Virginia's Liz Colgan (Notre Dame Prep), a senior last season, was named Goalkeeper of the Year.

Administration: UMBC athletic director Tim Hall was elected chairman of the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics for fall 2014, the committee announced last month. Hall, who has served on the 15-member, multidivisional committee since 2011, replaces current CWA chair Marilyn Moniz-Kaho'ohanohano. He previously had chaired the CWA/MOIC (Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee) Disability Subcommittee from 2012 to 2014.

Et cetera

UMBC's McKissick repeats victory in Bay swim Sunday

UMBC rising sophomore Andrew McKissick (Mount St. Joseph's) won the Great Chesapeake Bay Swim for the second consecutive year Sunday. McKissick completed the 4.4-mile open-water swim with a time of 1 hour, 29 minutes and 35 seconds to win, just over two minutes better than his time last year. There were over 600 competitors in the field. McKissick's classmate Steven Rigby placed seventh in his age group and 14th overall with a time of 1:41:12. In addition, incoming UMBC freshman Alissa Caulfield (Mount De Sales) was the fifth female swimmer to finish, and 32nd overall, finishing with a time of 1:47:22.

From Sun staff and news services

Lacrosse: The 2014 Matt Keesey Memorial Lax Game will be played at 1 p.m. Saturday at Tucker Field in Bel Air. Proceeds will go to the MJK Memorial Foundation. Keesey, who played football and lacrosse at Bel Air, took his own life in 2008, when he was 22 years old. The foundation, which was founded by the late Bel Air boys lacrosse coach Scoop Kelly, awards an annual scholarship to a Bel Air lacrosse player who goes toward college in Keesey's memory. It also gives to local lacrosse programs and suicide awareness groups. For more information, go to

Glenn Graham

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad