Loyola's Fletcher one of five Tewaaraton Award finalists

The Tewaaraton Award finalists for the 2014 season include the first brother duo, two returning finalists and one area player.

The Tewaaraton Foundation announced on Thursday afternoon that the five finalists for the college lacrosse version of the Heisman Trophy are Loyola Maryland senior defenseman Joe Fletcher, Princeton senior midfielder Tom Schreiber, Albany junior attackman Lyle Thompson, Albany senior attackman Miles Thompson and Duke senior attackman Jordan Wolf.

Miles and Lyle Thompson, members of the Onondaga Nation in upstate New York, are the first pair of brothers to be named finalists. The younger Thompson, a two-time America East Player of the Year, has 114 points and needs just one more to break a tie with former UMBC attackman Steve Marohl for the NCAA single-season record. The elder Thompson leads Division I with 74 goals and is eight shy of tying the NCAA single-season record held by former Yale midfielder Jon Reese.

Lyle Thompson and Schreiber were finalists a year ago and watched former Cornell attackman Rob Pannell take home the award. Fletcher, the Patriot League’s Defensive Player of the Year, is the only player representing the state of Maryland.

The winner will be announced during the foundation’s award ceremony May 29.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad