Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

3 Terps among 15 locals on women's Tewaaraton Watch List

Nine women from Maryland colleges and six more who played high school lacrosse in the Baltimore area were among 50 players named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, announced Thursday in New York City.

Maryland is one of five schools -- all from the Atlantic Coast Conference -- to have three nominees on the watch list for the most prestigious award in college lacrosse.

Terps Taylor Cummings (McDonogh), Brooke Griffin (South River) and Kelly McPartland join Loyola's Marlee Paton and Taryn Van Thof , Johns Hopkins' Taylor D'Amore, Navy's Loren Generi and Towson goalie Kelsea Donnelly (South River) as nominess from the state's Division I programs.

Salisbury's Ashton Wheatley, the two-time national Goalie of the Year from the defending national champions, is one of only two Division III players on the list.

Other nominees with local ties include: Denver's Hannah Hook (Severn) and Jill Remenapp (Century), Penn State's Maggie McCormick (Liberty), Princeton's Erin McMunn (Winters Mill), Boston College's Covie Stanwick (Notre Dame Prep) and Duke's Taylor Virden (McDonogh).

In addition to Maryland, defending Division I national champion North Carolina, Duke, Virginia and Syracuse had three players selected.

The Tewaaraton Award is presented annually to the top male and female player in all of college lacrosse. Maryland's Katie Schwarzmann won for the second straight time last year. Syracuse's Alyssa Murray is the only player on this year's list who also made the top five last season.

Players will be added to the list on March 20 and April 10, and then it will be trimmed to 25 nominees. The five finalists will be announced on May 8, with the award presented on May 29 in Washington D.C.

For the entire Watch List, go to the Tewaaraton Foundation website.



Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad