Milford Mill football coach selected Ravens' High School Coach of the Year

Milford Mill football coach Reggie White, who led the Millers to their first winning season in four years and their first appearance in the state semifinals in seven years, was named the Ravens' High School Coach of the Year Sunday during halftime of the Ravens-Broncos game at M&T; Bank Stadium.

"It was a good surprise," White said. "When they called my name, I looked at (Dunbar coach) Lawrence Smith and said, 'Who did they call?' and he said, 'You, Reg.' All I could say was, 'Wow.'

"You really appreciate just getting the Coach of the Week award. They treat you real nice and they take you on the field and you're standing beside guys who have won state championships and gone to the playoffs and it's a good feeling. I enjoyed the experience, but to receive the award, wow."

The Ravens' Coach of the Year is chosen from 10 weekly winners named throughout the fall. In addition to a plaque, White will receive $4,000 — on top of the $2,000 he won as Coach of the Week — toward the Millers athletics program.

"We might use the money to buy a Gator to transport Gatorade to the field and kids off the field (after injuries). Besides, we're getting old," White, 42, said with a laugh.

In White's 10th season at his alma mater, the No. 7 Millers (11-2) won the Class 3A North regional championship but fell to Huntingtown, 34-6, in the state semifinals.

Other than that loss, the Millers fell only to Baltimore County rival Franklin, 35-7, in the sixth week of the regular season. They avenged that with a 33-28 victory in the regional semifinal.

White, a former NFL lineman, is the 16th Ravens High School Coach of the Year and the first Baltimore County coach to be honored since Dundalk's Dave Eubank won in 2002

White, who played on the Millers' only state football championship team in 1987, went on to play four years in the NFL, three with the San Diego Chargers and one with the New England Patriots. He was selected by the Chargers in the sixth round in 1992 draft after playing at North Carolina A&T.;

Others named Ravens' coaches of the week this fall besides White and Smith: Edmondson's Dante Jones, Kent Island's Byron Sofinowski, Mount St. Joseph's Blake Henry, Francis Scott Key's Dave Smith, C. Milton Wright's Marc Alegi, Old Mill's Chad McCormick, Atholton's Kyle Schmitt and Mount Hebron's Phil Zacharias.

Jones and Lawrence Smith are previous Coach of the Year winners — Jones in 2006 and Smith in 2007.

  • Text TERPS to 70701 to get Baltimore Sun Terps sports text alerts
  • Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad