Use Code BALT69 for a $69 Ticket to One Day University on July 9

Digest: Loyola's Ratliff chosen as top ECAC defender

College lacrosse

Loyola's Ratliff chosen as top ECAC defender

Loyola long-stick midfielder Scott Ratliff was named Eastern College Athletic Conference Lacrosse League Defensive Player of the Year and was joined by four of his teammates on the All-ECAC teams, the league office announced Monday. Greyhounds coach Charley Toomey was selected as the ECAC Coach of the Year after leading Loyola to a 6-0 record in the conference regular season, a 12-1 overall record and a national No. 1 ranking for two weeks. It is the third time in seven years Toomey has been named the league's top coach. Ratliff was one of three Greyhounds chosen to the All-ECAC first team, joining Mike Sawyer on attack and Davis Butts in the midfield. Ratliff was named to the team as a defender. Eric Lusby (Severna Park) and Joe Fletcher were named to the All-ECAC second team on attack and defense, respectively.

More honors: Ohio State senior defenseman Joe Bonanni (St. Mary's) was chosen to the All-ECAC first team, while sophomore goalie Greg Dutton (Calvert Hall) was a second-team selection. ... Washington College senior goalie Peter Stewart (St. Mary's) was named Centennial Conference Defensive Player of the Week for the second time this season.

Women: Anne Arundel Community College finished its regular season last week as the nation's top-ranked junior college program, posting a 16-0 overall record and earning the top seed in next weekend's National Junior College Athletic Association Region XX tournament. Last year, the Pioneers finished 17-2 and were national runners-up. This year, they went 8-0 in the Maryland Junior College Conference and held opponents to five goals or fewer six times. They are the only unbeaten team in the NJCAA Top 10 women's lacrosse poll. CCBC-Essex is ranked fifth. "No matter how good you think that you can be, the chances of finishing a regular season undefeated are not that high," said AACC coach Jim Griffiths. "There is no question that the players are happy with the season thus far, but what they really want is another chance to play for a national championship." AACC will host the tournament Saturday and Sunday. The first- and second-place winners in the regional tournament advance to the national championship May 12-13.



No. 5 Maryvale beats No. 14 C.M. Wright in girls lacrosse

Elena McWrightMcRight, Carly Ross, Sam Darcangelo and Taylor Oliver scored three goals each as visiting No. 5 Maryvale (11-3) defeated No. 14 C. Milton Wright (9-4) in girls lacrosse, 16-10, on Monday. Maggie Suggi had 12 saves in the win.

Softball: Jordan Thompson had two home runs and Gabby Henson added another as No. 8 Broadneck (11-5) beat Severna Park in league play, 17-9.

Baseball: With the bases loaded and his team down by a run in the bottom of the eighth, No. 4 Reservoir's Lee Lawler hit a ground ball that was mishandled by Hammond's second baseman, allowing two runs to score and lifting the Gators (15-1) over the Golden Bears, 4-3. ... Nick Waite hit a two-out, two-RBI triple in the bottom of the sixth to lift host No. 15 Harford Tech (13-3) over Bohemia Manor, 8-6. Jacob Bright was 2-for-4 with three RBIs, and Jeremy Brown was 2-for-2 and scored twice.

Et cetera

Salisbury's Brittingham best CAC softball player again

Salisbury senior pitcher Erika Brittingham became the sixth softball player in CAC history, and the fifth Sea Gull, to win the conference's Player of the Year award in consecutive years. Brittingham, who earned All-America honors in 2011, led Salisbury to its 17th straight regular-season championship. The Gulls topped Frostburg in Saturday's championship game, 9-1, for its 16th straight playoff crown. She joins former Sea Gulls Myra Parks (1997-98) April Harned (2000-01), Lacey Lister (2004-06), Kelly Waskewicz (2007-08) and Mary Washington's Tasha Thomas (1992-93) as CAC Player of the Year winners in multiple years. Salisbury coach Margie Knight was selected by her peers as the CAC Coach of the Year for the fifth straight year and 11th time since 1997. Joining Brittingham on the first team were junior batterymate Michelle Gravdahl (Long Reach), junior shortstop Hannah Mills, senior third baseman Casey Zaino and junior outfielder Sarah Alpaugh (Liberty). On the All-CAC second team were Sea Gulls sophomore first baseman Harley Hill, junior second baseman Carly Read (Seton Keough), junior outfielder Chelsea Brooks and freshman pitcher Rachel Johnson. Frostburg State placed sophomore first baseman Caitlin Lovend (Reservoir) and freshman designated hitter Amanda Hennessee (North Carroll) on the first team, while junior middle infielders Taylor Vandergriff (Winters Mill) and Shari Beavers were second-team honorees. Freshman second baseman Stephanie Ayers represented Stevenson on the first-team, while senior outfielder Lisa Bilski (Fallston) was a second-team choice for the second time in her career.

More college softball: George Washington junior Autumn Taylor (Severna Park) was named Atlantic 10 Conference Player of the Week. ... Salisbury junior second baseman Carly Read was chosen as the Capital Athletic Conference Player of the Week.

Men's college basketball: Former Lake Clifton star Terence Jones committed to the University of Alabama-Birmingham on Saturday night. The 6-foot-2, 187-pound guard spent the past four years at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi. Because he redshirted as a freshman and will graduate next month, Jones has one year of NCAA eligibility remaining. Jones, who averaged a team-high 13.6 points as a redshirt junior, picked UAB over DePaul, Penn State, Tennessee Tech, Tulsa and Virginia Tech. Jones said he plans to work toward a master's degree in health education at UAB.

Women's college golf: Maryland freshman Juliet Vongphoumy was named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference Team.

NFL: Bowie State linebacker Delano Johnson signed a free-agent contract with the Houston Texans. Johnson finished his career with 219 tackles and set school records in blocked kicks and punts for a season with seven (2010) and career blocked kicks and punts (11).

Minor league basketball: Adrian Bowie (Maryland) of the Bay Area Shuckers garnered first-team All-Atlantic Coast Professional Basketball League honors, while Terry Hosley (Parkville/Maryland Bible) was a third-team selection.

From Sun staff and news services

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad