The Blast's Sagu and Lookingland win MISL awards

Sagu has been named the Major Indoor Soccer League's Goalkeeper of the Year, and his Baltimore Blast teammate Mike Lookingland is the Defender of the Year in league awards announced Thursday.

MISL award winners were selected through a vote by team management and select media members.

Following is the list of each award winner:


Most Valuable Player – Geison, Missouri Comets

Geison had a career year for the Comets, leading the league with 90 points and 38 goals. He also recorded at least a point in 22 consecutive games to close out the MISL regular season.


Rookie of the Year – Slavisa Ubiparapovic, Syracuse Silver Knights

After bursting onto the scene with a 10-point game in just his second indoor contest, Ubiparipovic remained a focal point for the Silver Knights in their inaugural season. The 24-year-old led all rookies with 61 points, tied for seventh in the league.


Coach of the Year – Keith Tozer, Milwaukee Wave

Keith Tozer and the Milwaukee Wave went from strength to strength this season, earning the legendary coach his 700th career victory. Tozer’s side was strong at both ends of the field, leading the MISL with 169 goals and finishing second with only 123 goals against.


Defender of the Year – Mike Lookingland, Baltimore Blast

Lookingland was the anchor of the stingiest defense in the league, which conceded only 108 goals. Blocking 30 shots and being sent to the penalty box only once all season, Lookingland’s leadership was vital to the Blast’s success.


Goalkeeper of the Year – Sagu, Baltimore Blast

Sagu earned his fourth Goalkeeper of the Year award, and second consecutive, after another remarkable season that saw him lead the league in points-against average and wins and finish second in save percentage.


Baltimore and Milwaukee will face off in the best-of-three 2012 MISL Championship Series starting Friday night at 1st Mariner Arena.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad