Ravens assistant line coach Andy Moeller's trial date moved to 2011

Ravens assistant line coach Andy Moeller has received a trial date of April 11, 2011 at 9 a.m. in Baltimore County court on charges of driving under the influence of alcohol, according to police documents.

Moeller, in his third season with the Ravens, faces seven charges after being stopped on Sept. 18 by a state trooper on the outer loop of the Beltway at Greenspring Ave. The charges include three counts of driving while impaired by alcohol, two counts of speeding, failure to display a registration card upon demand by police, and negligent driving in a careless and imprudent manner.

A former player and coach at the University of Michigan, Moeller joined the Ravens when John Harbaugh was named coach in 2008. He is subject to the NFL's personal conduct policy because of the arrest. In July, NFL commissioner Roger Goodell suspended Detroit Lions president Tom Lewand for 30 days and fined him $100,000 after he pleaded guilty to driving while impaired. Goodell has said he holds coaches and team executives to a higher standard under the personal conduct policy.

Moeller was acquitted of driving while under the influence last May, and had a similar incident in Ann Arbor, Mich., in December 2007. He was charged with failing to stop his vehicle after an accident, driving under the influence of alcohol, and refusing to take a field sobriety test.

The DUI charge was later reduced to driving while visibly impaired. Given probation, Moeller was ordered to continue alcohol counseling at an aftercare facility and to attend Alcoholics Anonymous meetings. He completed his probation "with improvement."

Moeller's lawyer, Andrew Alperstein, said the date of the trial was changed last week because he had a conflict in his court schedule.

The Ravens declined comment Tuesday.

Pro Bowl voting

Led by linebacker Ray Lewis, the Ravens have leaders at five positions in the AFC Pro Bowl balloting. Lewis collected 165,118 votes to lead the team.

Also out front at their positions are defensive tackle Haloti Ngata (129,460), safety Ed Reed (128,920), fullback Le'Ron McClain (125,535) and left tackle Michael Oher (112,565).

Colts quarterback Peyton Manning is the overall leader with 496,658 votes. Eagles quarterback Michael Vick leads the NFC with 405,292.

Fan, player and coach ballots each count one-third toward the 43-man rosters for each conference. Fans can vote at http://www.nfl.com/probowl or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/nfl.

Voting runs through Dec. 20.


Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad