Former MISL MVP Adauto Neto rejoins Blast

Forward Adauto Neto, the 2006 Major Indoor Soccer League Most Valuable Player, is returning to the Blast for the 2010-11 season, the team announced Monday.

The Blast also released its regular-season schedule, which will begin Nov. 19 at 7:35 p.m. against the Chicago Riot at 1stMariner Arena.

The Riot is one of several new clubs in the reconstructed MISL. The Blast will play 10 home games and 10 road games, competing against the Riot, the Milwaukee Wave, the Missouri Comets and the Omaha Vipers. Only the Wave was in the league last season.

Training camp begins next Monday.

Neto, a member of two Blast championship teams, was a first-team All-MISL selection last season for the Philadelphia KiXX. He led the MISL with 65 points (one three-point goal, 17 two-point goals and 28assists), recorded at least one point in 19straight games and was Offensive Player of the Month twice last season. He recorded 107 points for the Blast from 2005 to 2008.

Other roster additions are forwards Matt Watson and Warren Ukah and defender Rich Costanzo.

Watson, a member of the Blast from 2006 to 2009, played for the Carolina RailHawks (USSF D2) this summer. After earning championships with the Blast in 2008 and 2009, he took off the 2009-10 MISL season to recover from ankle surgery. Watson has recorded 25 goals for 58 points in 55 games with the Blast and will play with the RailHawks in the 2010 championship against the Puerto Rico Islanders next week.

Ukah played for the Milwaukee Wave during the 2007-08 season and was named to the All-Rookie team after recording 14goals and 11 assists (39 points) in his indoor soccer debut.

Costanzo, 24, recorded two goals and one assist for the USSF D2 Rochester Rhinos this summer.

He began his college career at Penn State before transferring to Maryland and winning the NCAA championship with the Terps in 2008.

The team also has re-signed the following players from last year's squad: forwards Adrian Bumbut, Giuliano Celenza, Max Ferdinand, Lucio Gonzaga and Machel Millwood; midfielders Robbie Aristodemo, Scott Buete and Pat Healey; defenders Carlos Garcia , Mike Lookingland, Billy Nelson and Zach Wilkes; and goalkeepers Sagu and Dave Kern.

Millwood, a six-year veteran, was named first-team All-MISL last year, and Sagu and Gonzaga were second-team All-MISL selections. Ferdinand, who recorded 35 points in 18 games last season, was the 2010 MISL Rookie of the Year.

Head coach Danny Kelly and assistant coach David Bascome will also return for their fifth season.

The Blast will play the Riot and Wave six times each and the Omaha Vipers and the Missouri Comets four times each. There will be four home games on Friday nights, four on Saturday nights and two on Sunday evenings. The Friday and Saturday games will kick off at 7:35p.m., and the Sunday games will start at 5:05p.m.

At the end of the regular season, the top three MISL teams will qualify for the postseason. The second- and third-place teams will face each other in a home-and-home semifinal series with the winner advancing to play the top seed. The top seed will receive a bye in the opening round and will host the championship game.

Season tickets and five-game mini plans are on sale through the Blast office. Single-game tickets will go on sale soon and will be available at the 1st Mariner Arena box office and at all Ticketmaster outlets including Ticketmaster phonecharge at 410-547-SEAT. Tickets can also be purchased online at Tickets cost $30, $22, $19 and $16. For additional information, call the Blast at 410-73-BLAST.2010-11 SCHEDULE

Date Opponent Time
Nov. 19 Chicago Riot 7:35 p.m.
Nov. 28 At Omaha Vipers 5:05 p.m.
Dec. 11 Missouri Comets 7:35 p.m.
Dec. 18 Omaha Vipers 7:35 p.m.
Dec. 29 At Missouri Comets 8:35 p.m.
Dec. 31 At Omaha Vipers 3:05 p.m.
Jan. 8 Milwaukee Wave 7:35 p.m.
Jan. 9 At Milwaukee Wave 4 p.m.
Jan. 16 At Chicago Riot 8 p.m.
Jan. 21 Milwaukee Wave 7:35 p.m.
Jan. 22 At Missouri Comets 8:35 p.m.
Jan. 29 Chicago Riot 7:35 p.m.
Jan. 30 At Chicago Riot 8 p.m.
Feb. 4 At Milwaukee Wave 8 p.m.
Feb. 18 Omaha Vipers 7:35 p.m.
Feb. 20 Milwaukee Wave 5:05 p.m.
Feb. 27 At Chicago Riot 8 p.m.
March 4 Chicago Riot 7:35 p.m.
March 6 At Milwaukee Wave 4 p.m.
March 13 Missouri Comets 5:05 p.m.

All home games are played at