Last-second goal gives U.S. 9-8 win over Canada in men's lacrosse world championship

The Baltimore Sun

Tom Schreiber scored the winning goal with just one second left to give the United States the Federation of International Lacrosse men's world championship with a 9-8 victory over Canada on Saturday in Netanya, Israel.

After the U.S. tied the game at 8 with 2:59 to play on the third goal of the game by Ryan Brown (Johns Hopkins, Calvert Hall), Trevor Baptiste won the faceoff to set up the final U.S. possession. There was a scramble for a loose ball, but the U.S. kept possession with 1:45 left after a loose-ball push by Canada.

In the final minute, the U.S. missed three consecutive shots over the net — shots by Paul Rabil (Johns Hopkins), Jordan Wolf and Schreiber. After the last one, Rob Pannell fed the ball from the end line to a cutting Schreiber and he finished it inside for his third goal.

Canada argued that the goal came after the final whistle, but the officials converged and ruled that the shot came with one second still on the clock.

"The fact that this game had to literally go to the last second speaks to the competition between the two teams," Schreiber said. "I have a ton of respect for those guys on the other side. I'm teammates with a few of them. In the indoor league I've gotten to know them, I know how competitive they are. In some ways it's a shame the game had to end that way...but we'll certainly take it."

"It is one of those things where it's shame when one team has to lose," said U.S. coach John Danowski. "The Canadian team played so well for so long, but at the end of the day our guys made one more play."

The championship is the 10th overall for the U.S. Canada defeated the U.S. to win the 2014 world championship in Denver and the two countries have alternated the championship since 2002 with the U.S. winning in 2002, 2010 and 2018 and Canada winning in 2006 and 2014.

Brown and Schreiber led the U.S. with three goals each and were named to the all-tournament team. Brown had 25 goals in the tournament, the second-highest total for a U.S. player in event history, just one away from the 26 Mark Millon scored in 1994. They were joined on the all-tournament team by attackman Rob Pannell and defender Michael Ehrhardt (Maryland).

Pannell, who had the assist on the winning goal, was named to the all-world team for the second straight time.

Ehrhardt and Schreiber were named the outstanding players at their position, and Ehrhardt, a long-stick midfielder who scored two goals in the semifinal win over Australia, was named the tournament's MVP.

Curtis Dickson led Canada with three goals and Mark Cockerton and Ben McIntosh each scored twice. Ward made nine saves for Canada.

The U.S. won 12 of 20 faceoffs with Baptiste claiming nine. U.S. goalie John Galloway made four saves to complete the tournament with a 7-0 record.

All-World Team

A - Rob Pannell, USA

A - Ryan Brown, USA

A - Curtis Dickson, Canada

M - Tom Schreiber, USA

M - Austin Staats, Iroquois Nationals

M - Ben McIntosh, Canada

D - Michael Ehrhardt, USA

D - Graeme Hossack, Canada

D - Ryland Rees, Canada

G - Dillon Ward, Canada

Outstanding Attackman: Curtis Dickson, Canada

Outstanding Midfielder: Tom Schreiber, USA

Outstanding Defender: Michael Ehrhardt, USA

Outstanding Goalie: Dillon Ward, Canada

MVP: Michael Ehrhardt, USA


Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad