May 18, 1996: Pat Day becomes the first jockey to win the Preakness three straight times as Louis Quatorze leads all the way after finishing 16th at the Kentucky Derby.

May 22, 1976: Though his school has no track facilities, Aberdeen's Jerome Deal wins the 100- and 220-yard dash at the state Class A track and field championships in Westminster. Three years later, Deal captures the 100-meter dash at the NCAA championships (10.19 seconds) and leads Texas-El Paso to the team title.


May 20, 1972: In an upset, the Preakness goes to Bee Bee Bee, a Maryland-bred long shot who raced at Timonium last year. A record Pimlico crowd of 48,721 sees the colt, ridden by 45-year-old Eldon Nelson, win by 11/2 lengths on a sloppy track as Kentucky Derby winner Riva Ridge finishes fourth.

May 24, 1969: Bobby Wheeler's victories in the mile and 880-yard runs give Dulaney the state Class AA track and field team championship at Overlea. Wheeler goes on to be a three-time All-American at Duke and make the 1972 U.S. Olympic team.

May 20, 1967: Damascus, a Laurel-trained colt, arrives at Pimlico on race day and runs the second-fastest Preakness in history (1 minute, 551/5 seconds). Damascus also wins the Belmont Stakes and is named Horse of the Year.

May 22, 1958: Before an announced crowd of 632, the last-place Chicago White Sox defeat the Orioles, 5-1, at Comiskey Park. Baltimore outfielder Bob Nieman gets two hits to boost his American League-leading batting average to .420.

May 18, 1948: The Baltimore Elite Giants defeat the Washington Homestead Grays, 5-4, in a Negro National League baseball game at Bugle Field. Winning pitcher Joe Black (Morgan State) strikes out nine and Junior Gilliam scores twice for the Giants, who'll win the first-half NNL championship. Both will later star for the Brooklyn Dodgers: Black wins 15 games as a rookie in 1952, and Gilliam is named National League Rookie of the Year in 1953.

May 18, 1940: Down 4-0, Maryland's lacrosse team rallies to defeat Johns Hopkins, 7-6, and retain its national championship before more than 5,000 fans at Byrd Stadium in College Park. The Terps, undefeated against college fare, get three goals from star midfielder Jack "The Moose" Mueller.


May 21, 1986: Matt Wieters, who in 2012 became the Orioles' first two-time All-Star catcher since Andy Etchebarren.