The Sun Remembers: Dec. 18-24

Dec. 19, 1999: The Ravens (7-7) intercept four passes and hold New Orleans to 11 rushing yards rushing — a team record — in defeating the visiting Saints, 31-8. Kyle Richardson sets an NFL mark of 37 punts dropped inside an opponent's 20-yard line in a season.

Dec. 24, 1989: A 98-68 rout of Sacramento State gives the Maryland men's basketball team the Chaminade Christmas Classic championship in Hawaii. It's the seventh win in 10 games for the Terps, whose Jesse Martin (17 points) is named the tournament's Most Valuable Player.


Dec. 19, 1970: In a football game dubbed "The Revenge Bowl," Earl Morrall passes for 348 yards and four touchdowns in Baltimore's 35-20 victory over the New York Jets at Memorial Stadium. The Colts improve to 11-2-1 in beating the team that upset them two seasons earlier in Super Bowl III.

Dec. 19, 1967: Bullets forward Ray Scott gets 27 points, 26 rebounds and six assists in a 117-98 win over the St. Louis Hawks before an announced 1,589 at the Civic Center.


Dec. 21, 1962: Before their smallest home crowd of the season — an announced 1,261 — the Clippers score four goals in the third period to defeat the Rochester Americans, 5-2, at the Civic Center. Red Sullivan, Dave Creighton and Leon Rochefort score for the American Hockey League cellar dwellers.

Dec. 18, 1951: Maryland football coach Jim Tatum receives a green 1951 Cadillac sedan from Terrapin Club alumni for leading the undefeated Terps to a Sugar Bowl date with No. 1 Tennessee on New Year's Day. Players are given sterling silver tie clips. Maryland wins, 28-13.

Dec. 19, 1948: Elizabeth "Toots" Barger sets a city women's duckpin record for five games (702) in the first round of the 24th Evening Sun Bowling Tournament. Barger, a four-time champion, rolls games of 167, 117, 139, 138 and 141 at Stadium Lanes.

Dec. 21, 1900: Friends shuts out Poly, 8-0, in boys basketball on the Quakers' home court. They get six points from A. Broomell.


Dec. 23, 1936: Bobby Ross, who — in five seasons as Maryland's football coach (1982-1986) — took the Terps to three Atlantic Coast Conference championships and two bowl victories. His record: 39-19-1.