Led by Pat Spencer (Boys' Latin), Loyola Maryland men's lacrosse rakes in Patriot League awards

The No. 8 Loyola Maryland and No. 11 Navy men's lacrosse teams, the top two seeds in the upcoming Patriot League tournament, picked up four of the conference's six major awards announced Monday morning.

Greyhounds junior attackman Pat Spencer (Boys' Latin) was named the Patriot League's Offensive Player of the Year, senior defenseman Foster Huggins was selected as Defensive Player of the Year, and junior Jacob Stover (McDonogh) was chosen as Goalkeeper of the Year. Midshipmen senior Joe Varello earned Faceoff Specialist of the Year honors.


Spencer is the first player in Patriot League history to win Offensive Player of the Year in each of his first three seasons and the third to earn that distinction three times overall. Already the conference's career leader in assists with 155, he is one point shy of the league record of 249, set by Bucknell's Chris Cara in 2005.

Huggins leads all Division I players in caused turnovers with 44 and has added 36 ground balls. The 25th overall pick by the Denver Outlaws in last week's Major Lacrosse League Collegiate Draft, Huggins is a two-time first-team All-Patriot League selection and a member of the Tewaaraton Award watch list along with Spencer.


Stover ranks second in the conference in goals-against average (8.4) and fourth in save percentage (.521). Stover, the son of former Ravens kicker Matt Stover, also scored his first career goal in a victory for Loyola Loyola (10-3, 7-1) over Boston University on April 14.

Besides Spencer, Huggins and Stover, senior midfielder Jay Drapeau (team-leading 33 goals and seven assists) and senior short-stick defensive midfielder Brian Begley (26 ground balls, eight caused turnovers, five goals, three assists) also were named first-team All-Patriot League. Junior midfielder John Duffy (20 goals, six assists) was placed on the second team.

Navy's Varello ranks second in the Patriot League with a .596 faceoff percentage (149-for-250) and leads the team with six ground balls per game. In his first season as the primary faceoff specialist for the Mids (9-4, 7-1), he has assisted on two goals and scored three others, including the game-winning goal with 0.2 of a second left in Saturday's 13-12 win at then-No. 9 Syracuse.

Joining Varello on the conference's first team are junior midfielder and Glen Burnie resident Greyson Torain (18 goals, 12 assists) and senior defenseman Michael Strack (team-high 14 caused turnovers, 33 ground balls, three assists). Junior midfielder Ryan Wade (team-best 23 assists, nine goals), sophomore goalkeeper Ryan Kern (8.74 goals-against average, .509 save percentage) and senior short-stick defensive midfielder D.J. Plumer (21 ground balls, seven caused turnovers, one goal, one assist) earned spots on the second team.

The Patriot League first team also included Army West Point junior defenseman Johnny Surdick, an Odenton native, and Lehigh junior long-stick midfielder Craig Chick (South River). Boston University attackman Chris Gray was named Rookie of the Year, while Bucknell's Frank Fedorjaka was honored as Coach of the Year.