Tewaaraton Award women's finalists announced

Maryland's Taylor Cummings, last season's Tewaaraton Award winner, is among five 2015 finalists for the trophy presented annually to the best player in women's college lacrosse.

The first player to win the award as a sophomore, Cummings was named the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year this spring for the No. 1 Terps (17-1), who are the No. 1 seed going into this weekend's NCAA Tournament. The McDonogh graduate was the second straight Tewaaraton winner from Maryland following Katie Schwarzmann (Century) who won the previous two.


Maryland has won four of the past five Tewaaraton Awards and five in the 14-year history of the trophy. Caitlyn (McFadden) Phipps (Notre Dame Prep), now a Maryland assistant coach, won in 2010 and Jen Adams, the Loyola Maryland coach, won the first award in 2001.

In addition to Cummings, there are two other repeat finalists, Syracuse attacker Kayla Treanor and Florida midfielder Shannon Gilroy. Boston College midfielder Sarah Mannelly and Notre Dame defender Barbara Sullivan round out the top five. None of those programs has ever had a Tewaaraton winner. Mannelly is the first finalist from Boston College.


The trophy, along with the men's Tewaaraton Award, will be presented May 28 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Cummings, who has been an all-conference selection for three years, leads the Terps in points (82), assists (29), ground balls (39), draw controls (125) and caused turnovers (33). She is a member of the U.S. women's national team.

All of the finalists will lead their teams into NCAA Tournament action this weekend. Defending champion Maryland, which will host the winner of Friday night's first-round game between Massachusetts and Jacksonville, on Sunday at noon, is aiming for its 11th NCAA championship.

The Terps are in the tournament for the 31st time and the 26th consecutive time, both Division I women's lacrosse records. They also have the records for most championships, most consecutive championships (seven), most tournament games (58) and most appearances in the title game (18).

Quick Hits

Navy's Loren Generi is the first player in NCAA women's lacrosse history to record 200 goals, 300 points and 400 draw controls…Maryland had won 27 straight games before falling to Ohio State in the Big Ten semifinals…Loyola Maryland now has Division I's longest active winning streak at 14 games…Ohio State's Katie Chase (Glenelg) set a new Buckeyes' record for goals in a season with 57…Robert Morris' Jessica Karwacki (Hereford) led Division I in draw controls per game with 10.56 and pushed her NCAA career record to 537…Maryland's Megan Whittle (McDonogh) is the top scoring freshman in Division I with 59 goals and 3.28 per game…Salisbury freshman Gianna Falcone leads Division III goalies in goals-against averge with 4.92.