Morgan State football picked to finish fifth in MEAC

Morgan State was predicted to finish fifth in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, according to a preseason poll of conference head coaches and sports information directors released Friday. Preseason favorite North Carolina A&T, South Carolina State, Bethune-Cookman and North Carolina Central finished ahead of the Bears, who last season won their first MEAC championship since 1979 and clinched their first NCAA Division I Playoff berth.

More: Morgan State had a conference-best 10 players selected to the preseason All-MEAC team. Rising junior running back Herb Walker Jr., junior center Dominique Woods, sophomore offensive lineman Matthew Thompson (Perry Hall) and redshirt junior cornerback Delonta Hall were first-team selections. Senior quarterback Moses Skillon, redshirt senior wide receiver Andrew King (Atholton) and redshirt junior kicker Chris Moller were voted to the second team. Redshirt junior defensive lineman Andrew Mitchell, junior defensive back Antonio Jefferson and returner Orlando Johnson were named to the third team.


Major League Lacrosse

No goalie award for ex-Terp Phipps, Bayhawks' Fiorito

The Chesapeake Bayhawks' Tyler Fiorito (McDonogh) and Ohio Machine's Brian Phipps (Maryland, Severn) finished second and third, respectively, in voting for the Maverik Goalie of the Year award in Major League Lacrosse on Monday. The New York Lizards' Drew Adams finished first, receiving nine first-place votes; Fiorito received six first-place votes, while Phipps received one. Fiorito led the league with 255 saves. Phipps, the boys lacrosse coach at Archbishop Spalding, helped lead the Machine to a 9-4 record in the regular season.

Et cetera

UMBC No. 12, UM No. 13 in preseason men's soccer poll

The UMBC and Maryland men's soccer teams were ranked in the top 15 of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America's preseason poll. The Retrievers, who advanced to the College Cup for the first time in program history last season, are rated No. 12, while the Terps, who won the Big Ten Conference regular-season and tournament championships, are No. 13. National runner-up UCLA is No. 1, and reigning champion Virginia is No. 2.

NFL: Washington Redskins cornerback Tevin Mitchel suffered a torn labrum in his left shoulder and is expected to miss the entire season after having surgery to repair it, coach Jay Gruden said. A sixth-round pick out of Arkansas, Mitchel injured his shoulder Saturday and didn't practice Sunday while having the shoulder evaluated.

Pro basketball: The Bay Area Shuckers signed forward Danny Thompson (Mount St. Mary's).

Fishing: The White Marlin Open, billed as the "world's largest billfish tournament," drew 306 registered boats to Ocean City. More than $3million in prizes was awarded at last year's event, including $1.29 million for the largest white marlin. A Crownsville man was on the winning team in 2013. Last year, the winner was from North Carolina, but local anglers did well, too. In the blue-marlin category, Sam Lancelotta of Ellicott City and Lawarence Julio of Reisterstown both earned a cash prize. The competition runs through Friday.

Michelle Deal-Zimmerman

Sailing: Arnold's Geoff Becker won the Lightning Class World Championship last month. Winning the competition, held on Abino Bay out of Buffalo Yacht Club, located on the north shore of Lake Erie, "is a huge one for me. I'm not going to lie," Becker said. "This is my first world championship as a skipper, and that means a lot. Knowing the amount of talent in the fleet makes it even more satisfying." Severna Park's Laura Beigel worked the bow, while Jimmy Barnash of Rochester, N.Y., handled the middle for Becker, who finished fourth or better in five of nine races.

Bill Wagner, Baltimore Sun Media Group

Track and field: Coppin State rising junior Michael James was selected to compete in the annual North American, Central American and Caribbean Championships on Friday through Sunday in San Jose, Costa Rica. James will represent his home country of Saint Lucia at the event.

Lacrosse: Tickets for the 2015 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Oct.24 at the Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley are now on sale at uslacrosse.org/HOF. This year's ceremony features nine inductees: Jake Curran, Dom Fin, Loyola Maryland's Diane Geppi-Aikens (posthumous), Bob Hartranft, Julie Hull Elicker, Charlie Lockwood, Sarah Nelson, Maggie Vaughan and Johns Hopkins' Brian Voelker. General-admission tickets are $140. Tickets for National Lacrosse Hall of Fame members are $50. All tickets must be purchased in advance. All tickets include open bar, hors d'oeuvres, buffet dinner and dessert buffet.


Junior golf: Edgewater's Tyler Mealey and Potomac's Blake Micholas shot an even-par 72 to win medalist honors at the American Junior Golf Association qualifier for the JoS. A. Bank/David Leadbetter Championship. In the girls' division, Siripatsorn Patchana of Bangkok, Thailand, medaled after shooting a 3-over-par 75 at Cattail Creek Country Club in Glenwood. Also qualifying for the championship were Bethesda's Taso Scilaris, Ellicott City's Patrick Hardy and Potomac's John Kalavritinos. Timonium's Stella Woo qualified in the girls' division as well. The event begins today. For more information, call (920) 410-9909 or visit ajga.org.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun