Digest (May 19): Brigade hold off Valor for fourth win

The Brigade improved to 4-1 with a 42-41 victory over the Washington Valor at Capital One Arena on Saturday. Brigade quarterback Randy Hippeard was named the game's Most Valuable P;ayer for his 213-yard, four-touchdown performance. Four wins matches the team's win total during its inaugural season last year. Hippeard connected for a 7-yard touchdown with 13:26 left in the fourth quarter, giving Baltimore a 42-34 lead. The Brigade then held off a Valor rally, forcing a turnover to end the game. Wide reciver Reggie Gray had 12 receptions for 171 yards and four touchdowns. Linebacker Alvin Ray Jackson made five tackles and forced a fumble. The Brigade return home next weekend, hosting the Philadelphia Soul on Friday at 7 p.m. at Royal Farms Arena.



Army-Navy baseball seriesfor Patriot title postponed

The Patriot League baseball championship Series featuring No. 1 seed Navy and No. 2 Army West Point at Terwilliger Brothers Field in Annapolis was postponed for the second consecutive day. The first game one of the series is now scheduled for 1 p.m. today. The game time for Monday's Game 2 is to be determined, while the time and date of Game 3, if necessary, is yet to be determined. ... Towson got home runs from seniors Charlie Watters and Colin Gimblet in a 12-3 loss to James Madison in the first game of a doubleheader. The Tigers also lost the second game, 11-6. ... Indiana defeated the Maryland , 13-3, as the Terps (24-30, 9-14 Big Ten) closed their season.


Major League Lacrosse : Myles Jones scored five goals to lead the Chesapeake Bayhawks to a 14-11 victory of the host Boston Cannons.

Women's college lacrosse: St. Mary's juniors Ali Collie (Dulaney) and Caitlin Katchmar (Hereford) were named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association All-Chesapeake Region Team. ... Salisbury seniors Gianna Falcone, Krissy Murphy (Westminster) and Allie Hynson (Mount de Sales) and junior Martha Hutzell (Centennial) earned first-team IWLCA All-Chesapeake Region recognition, while senior Dana King was named to the second team. ... Randolph Macon senior midfielder Alicia Hsieh (Centennial) was named to the All-Chesapeake Region First Team. ... Washington College junior defender Madison Schutz (John Carroll) and junior attacker Cecily Docktor were selected to the IWLCA All-Metro Region First Team. ... Stevenson senior Jamie Bittner (Bel Air) was named to the IWLCA All-Metro Region Second Team. ... Navy's Jenna Collins (River Hill) was named to the ECAC First Team, while Kelly Larkin and Blake Smith (Notre Dame Prep) were selected to the second team. ... Salisbury's Jim Nestor was named the Division III ECAC Coach of the Year. Falcone was named to the ECAC first team and Murphy named second team. ... Mount St. Mary's junior goalie Jillian Petito was named to the All-ECAC Division I Second Team.

Junior college men's lacrosse: Howard Community College, which lost last weekend in the national semifinals, had five players named to the first team of the All-Maryland JUCO team — Ian Decker, Dayton Fisher, Chris Rinehart, Will Smith (player of the year) and Jared Thompson. Harford's Elie Doyle, Nicholas Perrot (defensive player of the year), Chandler Schmidt and Reece Wiseman and Anne Arundel's Zachary Gussman, William Harrison, Nicholas Karnes and Jordan Kopf were also named to the first team. The second team included Harford's Collin Beck, Dylan Bielatowicz, Grady Dipeso, Jeff Otenasek and Chris Stallings; Anne Arundel's Trevor Bellotte, Dylan Morton, Zachary Payne and Camden Stramanak; Howard's Braden Martin, Austin Norton and Alex Stephanos; and CCBC-Essex's Camari Wilkerson.

Pro basketball: The Baltimore Shuckers' Kendall Allison (Southside) and Antonio Wright (Meade) were named Central Basketball Association All-League.

From Sun staff and news services