The Ravens and Ravens RISE will host their annual Play Like A Raven Football Clinics for participants ages 5-15 at four locations across Maryland this summer: May 29 at McDaniel College; June 5 at Bel Air High; June 6 at Western Regional Park (Columbia); and June 7 at Archbishop Curley. Participants will receive instruction from USA Football-certified master trainers and Heads Up Football-trained coaches. Former Ravens running back Jamal Lewis and linebacker Brad Jackson (May 29), running back Justin Forsett and wide receiver-kick returner Jacoby Jones (June 5 and June 6) and other alumni will also be in attendance to help lead the clinics. Additionally, for the first time, current Ravens will be at each clinic to mingle with fans and lead drills. Players scheduled to attend include quarterback Joe Flacco and safety Tony Jefferson (May 29), linebackers C.J. Mosley and Matthew Judon (June 5), running backs Alex Collins and Buck Allen (June 6), and defensive tackles Brandon Williams and Carl Davis (June 7). Player appearances are subject to change. Each clinic is $50, and participants will receive a T-shirt provided by Under Armour. To register, go to

Varsity lacrosse


Five local girls added to All-America game

Five more local girls lacrosse players were named Under Armour All-Americans on Monday. McDonogh's Julia Hoffman, Notre Dame Prep's Caitlynn Mossman, Bel Air's Gabi Hall, Manchester Valley's Tayler Warehime and Gerstell's Jillian Wilson were named in the third of four waves of senior All-Americans. Their selection brings to 13 the number of girls from the Baltimore area selected to play in the 13th annual Under Armour All-America Lacrosse Game on June 30 at Johns Hopkins Homewood Field. With 11 more girls to be announced in the final wave later this month, the Baltimore area already has more than quarter of the selections for the 44-girl roster. After the fourth wave is announced, the players will be divided into North and South teams for the game, which begins at 5:30 p.m. followed by the boys at 8. No local boys were named in the third wave.

— Katherine Dunn


No suspension for Capitals ' Wilson for Game 2 hit

Washington Capitals forward Tom Wilson will not have a hearing with the NHL's Department of Player Safety and will not face a suspension for a hit that knocked Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman Brian Dumoulin out of Sunday's Game 2 during the teams' second-round playoff series. "The league is a neutral party," Capitals coach Barry Trotz said Monday. "They look at it. I know each organization, each fan base, will have their own opinions. That's why there's a neutral party in it. Whatever they decided, we were fine with." Wilson's shoulder appeared to strike Dumoulin in the head as the defenseman turned away from an oncoming hit from Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin . Dumoulin did not return to the game, and he practiced in Pittsburgh on Monday in a noncontact jersey. He has averaged more than 22 minutes for the Penguins in the playoffs as a top-pairing defenseman. According to a person familiar with the league's supplemental discipline process, in the NHL's view, Dumoulin materially changed the position of his head and body immediately before contact. Wilson was chasing him and not able to initiate any sort of hit, but Dumoulin stopped suddenly. Per the wording of Rule 48.1.iii, such hits are considered unavoidable and not suspension-worthy. A penalty wasn't called on the ice.

— Isabelle Khurshudyan, The Washington Post

Et cetera

Loyola Md., Navy sweep women's lacrosse awards

The Loyola Maryland and Navy women's lacrosse teams combined to sweep the five major Patriot League awards. Greyhounds junior Hannah Powers was named Attacker of the Year, junior Kristen Yanchoris (Century) the Defensive Player of the Year, freshman attacker Livy Rosenzweig the Rookie of the Year and Jen Adams the Coach of the Year. Mids senior Jenna Collins (River Hill) was picked as Midfielder of the Year. Loyola placed a league-best nine players on the All-Patriot League teams, while Navy had eight all-league selections. Greyhonds junior midfielder Taylor VanThof and junior goalkeeper Kady Glynn joined Powers, Yanchoris and Rosenzweig on the first team, while senior midfielder Katrina Geiger and senior defender Madison Fahey were voted to the second team with senior attackers Frankie Kamely and Hannah Savage. Along with Collins, Navy sophomore attacker Kelly Larkin, senior attacker Julia Collins (River Hill) and senior defender Blake Smith (Notre Dame Prep) were named to the first team. Mids junior attacker Meg O'Donnell (North Harford), junior midfielder Andie O'Sullivan, junior defender Marie Valenti and senior Ingrid Boyum received second-team honors.

Men's college golf: Maryland senior David Kocher was named to the All-Big Ten tournament team after leading the Terps at the Five Farms Golf Course at Baltimore Country Club this past weekend. Kocher finished tied for fifth with an overall score of 2-over-par 212 (69-68-75). Illinois won its fourth straight Big Ten championship after shooting a three-round score of 836. The Fighting Illini, who won their 16th Big Ten title and ninth in the past 10 years, earned the conference's automatic berth to the NCAA championship. Ohio State finished second (851), Iowa in third (857), Penn State (860) in fourth and Northwestern (863) in fifth. Maryland (874) placed ninth.

Major Arena Soccer League: The Blast have been named the league's Organization of the Year while president and general manager Kevin Healey earned Executive of the Year. The Blast won their third straight MASL title last month, defeating the Monterrey Flash for the Ron Newman Cup. After moving to SECU Arena in Towson, the Blast were also among the league leaders in revenue. Free agency runs today through May 15, and the annual spring owners meetings will be held in St. Charles, Mo., on May 16-17. The 2018-19 season will begin Dec. 1.