After a hotly contested opening half, the Chesapeake Bayhawks took advantage of a 2-point goal by Ben Rubeor (Loyola High) just three minutes into the third quarter to propel them to an 11-7 Major League Lacrosse victory over the host Ohio Machine on Saturday night.

With the win, Chesapeake became the first team to clinch a playoff spot.

The teams went into halftime tied at 4, but Rubeor set the tone for a big second half for the Bayhawks (9-2), who extended their first-place lead to a full game over the Denver Outlaws.

Rubeor's goal came off a turnover by former Bayhawk Kyle Hartzell (Salisbury).

A few minutes later, Chesapeake's Drew Westervelt (UMBC, John Carroll) extended the Bayhawks' lead to 7-4 with a goal from in tight.

The advantage grew by way of a goal by midfielder Michael Kimmel (Loyola High, Johns Hopkins) and the Bayhawks were in control 8-4 entering the final quarter.

Chesapeake goalie Kip Turner (Severn) held the Machine scoreless in the third quarter en route to finishing with 15 saves.

In the fourth quarter, the Bayhawks' Kyle Dixon (Archbishop Spalding) set the MLL record for 2-point goals in a season (12).

Recommended on Baltimore Sun