Bayhawks strengthen transition game with Costabile as first pick

The Chesapeake Bayhawks added nine rookies in the Major League Lacrosse college draft Friday night in Philadelphia, including long-stick midfielder CJ Costabile with the fifth selection overall and former McDonogh goalie Tyler Fiorito five picks later.

Costabile, a Duke senior from New Fairfield, Conn., is a two-time USILA All-America third-team selection and a two-time All-Atlantic Coast Conference choice.

During the 2011 season, he led the team with 95 ground balls and ranked second in caused turnovers with 23. The defensive standout has 232 ground balls and 31 points during his three-year college career.

"CJ is a great athlete," Bayhawks general manager Brian Reese said. "He will play long-stick middie and help in transition and facing off. He can make plays all over the field."

Fiorito, a native of Phoenix in Baltimore County, was a 2011 third-team All-America nominee at Princeton and a two-time first-team All-Ivy League selection. In 2011, he ranked second in Division I save percentage (.615) and eighth in Division I goals-against average (7.53).

The Bayhawks also drafted North Carolina midfielder Jimmy Dunster, Penn State attackman Matt Mackrides, Delaware attackman Grant Kaleikau, Yale attackman Matt Gibson, Maryland midfielder Drew Snider, Fairfield midfielder Brent Adams and Delaware midfielder John Austin.

Virginia's Steele Stanwick (Loyola) was taken second overall by the Ohio Machine, behind Cornell midfielder Rob Pannell (Long Island Lizards).

Two other Terps were drafted: Jake Bernhardt, 12th overall by the Hamilton Nationals, and Joe Cummings (Loyola), 17th overall by the Rochester Rattlers.


Pick Team Player School

1 Long Island (from Charlotte) Rob Pannell Cornell

2 Ohio Steele Stanwick Virginia

3 Rochester Mike Manley Duke

4 Denver (from Long Island) Mark Matthews Denver

5 Chesapeake CJ Costabile Duke

6 Denver Colin Briggs Virginia

7 Hamilton Chad Wiedmaier Princeton

8 Ohio (from Boston) Robert Rotanz Duke

9 Charlotte Justin Turri Duke

10 Chesapeake (from Rochester from Ohio) Tyler Fiorito Princeton

11 Rochester Roy Lang Cornell

12 Hamilton (from Long Island) Jake Bernhardt Maryland

13 Rochester (from Chesapeake) Kevin Drew Syracuse

14 Denver Kevin Vaughan Harvard

15 Boston (from Ohio from Rochester from Hamilton) Chris Boland Johns Hopkins

16 Ohio (from Boston) Anthony Biscardi Massachusetts

17 Rochester (from Charlotte) Joe Cummings Maryland

18 Long Island (from Rochester from Ohio) Sam Bradman Salisbury

19 Boston (from Rochester) Kevin Cunningham Villanova

20 Charlotte (from Long Island) Mark Manos Drexel

21 Ohio (from Chesapeake) Billy Eisenreich Bucknell

22 Chesapeake (from Rochester from Denver) Jimmy Dunster North Carolina

23 Hamilton Jack McBride North Carolina

24 Ohio (from Boston) Alex Demopoulos Denver

25 Rochester (from Charlotte) Bobby Dattilo Hobart

26 Chesapeake (from Ohio) Matt Mackrides Penn State

27 Chesapeake (from Rochester) Grant Kaleikau Delaware

28 Long Island Tommy Palasek Syracuse

29 Charlotte (from Rochester from Chesapeake) Chris Bocklet Virginia

30 Denver Tom Celentani Massachusetts

31 Hamilton Matt Lovejoy Virginia

32 Boston Mark Staines North Carolina

33 Denver (from Charlotte) Steve Serling Hofstra

34 Ohio Bobby Eilers Syracuse

35 Rochester Tim Henderson Army

36 Long Island Kyle Moeller Stony Brook

37 Boston (from Chesapeake) Will Koshansky Penn

38 Chesapeake (from Rochester from Denver) Matt Gibson Yale

39 Hamilton Joe Resetarits Albany

40 Boston Chris Clements Virginia

41 Charlotte Dan DiMaria Harvard

42 Ohio Chris Langton Cornell

43 Rochester Carter Bender Hartford

44 Denver (from Long Island) Steven Robarge VMI

45 Chesapeake Drew Snider Maryland

46 Denver John Cunningham Princeton

47 Hamilton Brock Sorenson Ohio State

48 Boston J.J. Gilbane Cornell

49 Charlotte Kevin Randall Notre Dame

50 Ohio Marshall Burkhart Johns Hopkins

51 Rochester Charlie McComas North Carolina

52 Long Island Charlie Streep Bucknell

53 Chesapeake Brent Adams Fairfield

54 Denver Charlie Cipriano Fairfield

55 Hamilton Kiel Matisz Robert Morris

56 Boston Greg Mahony Yale

57 Charlotte Joe Vitale Adelphi

58 Ohio Austin Bright Bellarmine

59 Rochester Tommy Wood North Carolina

60 Long Island Robert Campbell Stony Brook

61 Chesapeake John Austin Delaware

62 Denver Shane Jackson Limestone

63 Hamilton Gerry Reilly Georgetown

64 Boston Martin Bowes Hartford