Use Code BALT69 for a $69 Ticket to One Day University on July 9

Loyola Maryland’s Pat Spencer named Outstanding Attackman in men’s lacrosse

Pat Spencer and the rest of the Loyola Maryland men’s lacrosse team will not take part in championship weekend, but the junior attackman can take some solace in knowing that his successful season did not go unnoticed.

The Davidsonville resident and Boys’ Latin graduate was named the country’s top attackman Thursday morning, receiving the Lt. Col. J.I. (Jack) Turnbull Award. He is the first Greyhounds player to earn that distinction and joins former defenseman Joe Fletcher as the only players to receive a national honor. (Fletcher won the William Schmeisser Award in 2014 as the Defender of the Year.)

Spencer, one of five finalists for the Tewaaraton Award for the second straight year, set program records in 2018 for all-time assists (166), single-season assists (59) and single-season points (94). He also established Patriot League marks for single-season assists, career assists and career points (266).

The other major award winners were: Yale senior attackman Ben Reeves (Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award – Outstanding Player); Denver senior faceoff specialist Trevor Baptiste (Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin, Jr. Award – Outstanding Midfielder); Notre Dame senior long-stick midfielder John Sexton (William C. Schmeisser Award – Outstanding Defensive Player); and Albany redshirt senior goalkeeper JD Colarusso (Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award – Outstanding Goalie).

Spencer became the third player in school history to be named a first-team All American twice, joining Fletcher (2013-14) and midfielder Mark Frye (1998-99). Spencer was joined on the first team’s attack by two other Tewaaraton Award finalists in Duke senior Justin Guterding and Reeves.

The first team’s midfield included Maryland senior Connor Kelly and Johns Hopkins senior Joel Tinney. Kelly is the first midfielder in Terps history to be named a first-team All American in back-to-back years since Bill McGlone (2005-06) and the first to reach 40 goals and 30 assists in a season.

With 32 assists in 2018, Tinney tied Kevin Boland (2004) for the Blue Jays’ single-season record for assists in a year by a midfielder. Not only did he rank second on the team in assists and tie for second in points (53), but Tinney also ranked second in ground balls (36).

The first team’s defense included Loyola senior defenseman Foster Huggins and Towson junior short-stick defensive midfielder Zach Goodrich. Huggins, the Patriot League’s Defensive Player of the Year, set a school and conference record for caused turnovers (52), and the caused turnovers total is tied for third in NCAA single-season history.

Goodrich, the Colonial Athletic Association’s Defensive Player of the Year in 2018, is the first Tigers player to earn first-team distinction since midfielder Tim Langton (1996) and only the school’s third player (midfielder Rob Shek in 1991). Goodrich amassed 31 ground balls and 19 caused turnovers, which tied his career-high total set last spring.

The second team includes Loyola senior midfielder Jay Drapeau, Maryland senior defenseman Bryce Young, Notre Dame sophomore midfielder Bryan Costabile (Mount St. Joseph) and Cornell fifth-year senior goalkeeper Christian Knight (Boys’ Latin).

The third team includes Maryland sophomore attackman Jared Bernhardt, Johns Hopkins junior defenseman Patrick Foley and Georgetown senior short-stick defensive midfielder Ryan Hursey (Westminster).

Earning honorable-mention status were a trio of Johns Hopkins attackmen in senior Shack Stanwick (Boys’ Latin), junior Kyle Marr and sophomore Cole Williams (Loyola Blakefield); three Maryland players in fifth-year senior midfielder Tim Rotanz, junior defenseman Curtis Corley and fifth-year senior goalie Dan Morris; and Lehigh junior defenseman Craig Chick (South River).

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad