Morgan State wins the NCAA Division II men’s basketball championship, 67-52, over Southwest Missouri State.
Morgan State wins the NCAA Division II men’s basketball championship, 67-52, over Southwest Missouri State.


1952: Maryland's football team upsets No. 1-ranked Tennessee, 28-13, in the New Year's Day Sugar Bowl, capping a 10-0 season.


1953: Baltimore receives an NFL franchise and names the team the Colts.

1954: The Orioles return to Baltimore and the American League after a 52-year absence.


1958: The Colts win the NFL championship, 23-17, over the New York Giants in sudden-death overtime.

1959: The Colts repeat as NFL champions, defeating the Giants, 31-16.


1963: Baltimore receives an NBA franchise (formerly the Chicago Zephyrs) as the Bullets begin play.

1964: The Colts (12-2) win the NFL Western Conference but are defeated, 27-0, in the title game by the underdog Cleveland Browns.

1966: The Orioles win their first World Series, sweeping the Los Angeles Dodgers in four games.

1968: The Colts shut out the Browns, 34-0, for the NFL championship but are stunned, 16-7, in the January 1969 Super Bowl by the New York Jets.

1969: Though they win 109 games during the regular season, the Orioles are upset in the World Series by the New York Mets, four games to one.


1970: The Orioles defeat the Cincinnati Reds, four games to one, to win the World Series.

1971: A field goal by rookie Jim O'Brien with five seconds remaining gives the Colts a 16-13 victory in the Super Bowl over the Dallas Cowboys.

1971: Advancing to the NBA Finals for the first time, the Bullets lose to the Milwaukee Bucks, 4-0.


1971: The Orioles win more than 100 games for the third straight year, but they're defeated by the Pittsburgh Pirates in the World Series, 4-3.

1974: Morgan State wins the NCAA Division II men's basketball championship, 67-52, over Southwest Missouri State.


1983: The Orioles win the World Series, four games to one, over the Philadelphia Phillies.

1983: The Dunbar boys basketball team (31-0) wins the first of its three national high school championships.

1984: During a snowfall, and under the cover of night, the Colts leave town and move to Indianapolis.

1986: Maryland basketball star Len Bias dies of a cocaine overdose, leading to the resignation of the school's athletic director and coach.

1987: Johns Hopkins wins its fourth NCAA Division I mens' lacrosse tournament of the decade, defeating Cornell, 11-10.


1991: A crowd of 50,700 sees the Orioles play their last game at Memorial Stadium, a 7-1 loss to the Detroit Tigers.

1992: Oriole Park at Camden Yards opens as the Orioles shut out the Cleveland Indians, 2-0.

1995: Cal Ripken Jr. of the Orioles plays in his 2,131st consecutive game, breaking the 56-year-old major league record set by Lou Gehrig of the New York Yankees.

1996: The Ravens (nee Cleveland Browns) begin play as Baltimore's new NFL team.

1997: The Orioles win the AL East and reach the AL Championship Series before losing in six games to the Indians.


2000: For the first time in 56 years, the Army-Navy football game is played in Baltimore. Navy triumphs, 30-28, before a crowd of 70,685 at PSINet Stadium.

2001: The Ravens win their first Super Bowl, 34-7, beating the Giants.

2002: Maryland's men's basketball team wins its first NCAA championship, 64-52, defeating Indiana.

2006: A 78-75 overtime win against Duke gives Maryland's women's basketball team its first NCAA title.


2013: Winning their second Super Bowl, the Ravens defeat the San Francisco 49ers, 34-31.

2014: The Orioles win the AL East but are swept 4-0 by the Kansas City Royals in the ALCS.


Recommended on Baltimore Sun