Walters, Westervelt among 24 players named to MLL All-Star team

Major League Lacrosse on Tuesday announced the 24-player roster that will compete against Team USA in the MLL All-Star Game on June 26 at 7:30 p.m. at Harvard Stadium.

Team MLL features the best players from the league's eight teams, including nine-time All-Star and Boston Cannons defender Brodie Merrill and last year's league Most Valuable Player, Florida Launch midfielder Kevin Crowley.

The Chesapeake Bayhawks (1-5), the two-time reigning league champions who have sputtered to last place in the league, will be represented by midfielder Joe Walters (Maryland) and attackman Drew Westervelt (John Carroll, UMBC). Walters and Westervelt will be two of the most experienced players on the field, as Walters will be making his seventh All-Star Game appearance, and Westervelt will be making his fifth.


The last two No. 1 selections in the MLL collegiate draft, Peter Baum (2013) and Tom Schreiber (2014), also will play for Team MLL. The Ohio Machine midfielders have combined for 21 goals through the first six weeks of the 2014 season.

The Denver Outlaws, the league's top team in the standings, have four players who were selected, including Jeremy Sieverts (McDonogh, Maryland), who will be making his third consecutive All-Star appearance and who has scored an MLL-best four 2-point goals this season. Teammate Michael Simon (Fallston, Stevenson) will make his first All-Star appearance.

The team will be coached by Bayhawks head coach Dave Cottle; New York Lizards head coach Joe Spallina will serve as his assistant.


Tickets for the game in Cambridge, Mass., are on sale and can be purchased at or by calling 617-746-9933. The game will also be televised live on CBS Sports Network.

Next month, Team USA will compete in the quadrennial Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship in Commerce City, Colo.

MLL All-Star team by position (local schools noted)

Goalies: Jordan Burke, Boston; Brett Queener, Florida

Faceoff: Anthony Kelly, Denver; John Ortolani, Rochester

Defensemen: Ryan Flanagan, Charlotte; Mike Manley, Rochester; Brett Schmidt, Charlotte (Maryland); Kyle Sweeney, Boston

Defensive midfielders: Steve DeNapoli, New York; Kevin Drew, Charlotte; Kevin Unterstein, New York

Long-stick midfielders: Brodie Merrill, Boston; Michael Simon, Denver (Fallston, Stevenson); Joel White, Rochester

Midfielders: Peter Baum, Ohio; Kevin Crowley, Florida; Tom Schreiber, Ohio; Jeremy Sieverts, Denver (McDonogh, Maryland); Justin Turri, Rochester; Joe Walters, Chesapeake (Maryland)

Attackmen: Matt Danowski, Charlotte; Eric Law, Denver; Logan Schuss, Ohio; Drew Westervelt, Chesapeake (John Carroll, UMBC)