Terps' two-time winner Taylor Cummings headlines women's Tewaaraton Watch List

Maryland senior midfielder Taylor Cummings at women's lacrosse practice on Jan. 29, 2016.
Maryland senior midfielder Taylor Cummings at women's lacrosse practice on Jan. 29, 2016. (Kim Hairston / Baltimore Sun)

Maryland's two-time winner Taylor Cummings headlines the 50-player women's Tewaaraton Watch List announced Tuesday that also includes three other Terps and players from Loyola Maryland and Johns Hopkins.

Alice Mercer, Zoe Stukenberg and Megan Whittle of Maryland also made the list as did Loyola's Maddy Lesher and Johns Hopkins' Dene' DiMartino and Haley Schweizer.


More players can be added before the list is narrowed to 25 on April 28 and to five on May 12. The five finalists will be invited to the 16th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on June 2 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Last year, Cummings, a senior McDonogh graduate, became the fourth repeat winner of the women's Tewaaraton, awarded to the best player in the college game. She was the first sophomore to win and could become the first three-time winner, women's or men's.

One of the most versatile midfielders ever to play the game, Cummings led the Terps to the national championship the past two seasons. with her scoring, draw control domination and defense. She was named Most Outstanding Player of both national tournaments.

This year's Watch List includes three of the other four finalists from a year ago: Syracuse attacker Kayla Treanor, Notre Dame defender Barbara Sullivan and Boston College midfielder Sarah Mannelly.

Maryland players have won six Tewaaraton Awards. Jen Adams, now the Loyola Maryland coach, won the first in 2001. Notre Dame Prep graduate Caitlyn (McFadden) Phipps, a Terps assistant coach, won in 2010. Century graduate Katie Schwarzmann, an assistant coach at Mount St. Mary's, won in 2012 and 2013.

Maryland's other three nominees are also local players. Defender Mercer is a Century graduate while midfielder Stukenberg graduated from Marriotts Ridge. Both led their high school teams to state championships.

Whittle, a sophomore, is a former McDonogh teammate of Cummings, who helped the Eagles go undefeated during her four years.

Cummings, Stukenberg and Whittle were Baltimore Sun All-Metro Players of the Year. Mercer was a multiple-year All-Metro selection.

Loyola's Lesher, a senior defender, is from Gladwyne, Pa. For Johns Hopkins, DiMartino is a senior midfielder from Manorville, N.Y., and Schweizer is a junior defender from Newark, Del.

Besides the four Terps, several other graduates of local high schools were named to the list: Princeton defender Liz Bannantine (McDonogh), Syracuse midfielder Erica Bodt (John Carroll), Penn State attacker Jenna Mosketti (Fallston), Penn State midfielder Abby Smucker (C. Milton Wright) and Virginia goalie Rachel Vander Kolk (Severna Park).

Click here to see the entire Tewaaraton Watch List.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun