Terps, Sea Gulls lead IWLCA Player of the Year selections

National champions Maryland and Salisbury came away with two awards each as the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association announced its Player of the Year winners during Saturday night's IWLCA All Amercian Banquet in Valley Forge, Pa.

Maryland sophomore Taylor Cummings (McDonogh), already the Tewaaraton and Honda award winner and the Most Valuable Player in the Division I national tournament, was the Midfielder of the Year. Also for the Division I champs, junior Megan Douty, a Tewaaraton finalist, was named Defender of the Year.


In Division III, Salisbury senior Ashton Wheatley took her third straight Goalkeeper of the Year award after leading the Sea Gulls to their second straight national title. Junior Bethany Baer (Westminster), the Most Outstanding Player in the Division III tournament, was named Division III Midfielder of the Year.

One other player with local ties also took home an award. Virginia's Liz Colgan (Notre Dame Prep) was named the Division I Goalkeeper of the Year.

Other winners:

Division I

Attacker of the Year: Kayla Treanor, Syracuse

Division II

Attacker of the Year: Jackie Sileo, LIU Post

Midfielder of the Year: Jessica Pandolf, Loch Haven

Defender of the Year: Jackie Williams, Adelphi

Goalkeeper of the Year: Katie Hammerer (Leonardtown), Florida Southern

Division III

Attacker of the Year: Erica Geremia, SUNY Cortland

Defender of the Year: Jessica Lavelle, SUNY Cortland