The U.S. national men's lacrosse team will conduct an intrasquad scrimmage Sunday at 3 p.m. at the Capital Lacrosse Classic at Landon School in Bethesda.

This is the latest step for the U.S. Team as it prepares for tryouts next summer before the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse World Championships in Commerce City, Colo. The U.S. scrimmaged Canada at the Duel in Denver on Sept. 8, losing, 11-9.


Sunday's scrimmage is also a preview of the Champion Challenge  from Jan. 25-27 in Orlando, Fla., when the defending gold medalists will scrimmage at least one NCAA team.

As part of the event, the Johns Hopkins men’s lacrosse team will take on Penn State at 10:30 a.m. and Cornell at 12:30 p.m. This will be the Blue Jays' only outside competition this fall.

The U.S. roster:


Billy Bitter        North Carolina '11      Rochester Rattlers
Ryan Boyle      Princeton '04      Boston Cannons
Jim Connolly      Massachusetts '09      Ohio Machine
Ned Crotty     Duke '10      Rochester Rattlers
Matt Danowski     Duke '08      Charlotte Hounds
Ian Dingman     Navy '07      none
Kevin Leveille     Massachusetts '03      Rochester Rattlers
Rob Pannell     Cornell '13      none
Steele Stanwick     Virginia '12      Ohio Machine
Chazz Woodson     Brown '05      Ohio Machine


Matt Abbott     Syracuse '09      Chesapeake Bayhawks
Steven Brooks     Syracuse '08      Chesapeake Bayhawks
Ben Hunt     North Carolina '09      Chesapeake Bayhawks
Terry Kimener     UMBC '08      Denver Outlaws
Michael Kimmel     Johns Hopkins '10      Chesapeake Bayhawks
Roy Lang     Cornell '12      Ohio Machine
Cameron Lao-Gosney     Lehigh '12      Hamilton Nationals
Roman Lao-Gosney     Lehigh '12      Hamilton Nationals
Stephen Peyser     Johns Hopkins '08      Long Island Lizards
Peet Poillon     UMBC '09      Charlotte Hounds
Brendan Porter     Rutgers '10      LXM Pro Tour
Brad Ross     Duke '08      Rochester Rattlers
Rob Rotanz     Duke '12      Rochester Rattlers
Chris Schiller     Penn State '99      none
Max Seibald     Cornell '09      Long Island Lizards
Jeremy Sieverts     Maryland '09      Denver Outlaws
Mike Stone     Middlebury '09      Boston Cannons
Matt Striebel     Princeton '01      Rochester Rattlers
Justin Turri     Duke '12      Charlotte Hounds
Kevin Unterstein     Hofstra '08      Long Island Lizards
Julian Watts     Hofstra '07      Long Island Lizards

Faceoff specialists

Greg Gurenlian    Penn State '06 Long Island Lizards
Adam Rand     Stony Brook '11      Chesapeake Bayhawks
Stephen Robarge     VMI '12      Denver Outlaws
Alex Smith     Delaware '07      Chesapeake Bayhawks


Mitch Belisle     Cornell '07      Boston Cannons
Michael Evans     Johns Hopkins '09      Chesapeake Bayhawks
Brian Farrell     Maryland '11      Boston Cannons
Tim Henderson     Army '12      Long Island Lizards
Brian Karalunas     Villanova '11     Long Island Lizards
John Lade     Syracuse '11     Rochester Rattlers
Matt Lovejoy     Virginia '12     Hamilton Nationals
P.T. Ricci     Loyola '09      Boston Cannons
Michael Simon     Stevenson '09     Chesapeake Bayhawks
Mike Skudin     Hofstra '11     Long Island Lizards
Steven Waldeck     Stony Brook '10     Hamilton Nationals
Joel White     Syracuse '11     Rochester Rattlers
Chad Wiedmaier      Princeton '12     Hamilton Nationals


Drew Adams     Penn State '09     Long Island Lizards
Tyler Fiorito     Princeton '12      Chesapeake Bayhawks
Matt Russell      Navy '06     LXM Pro Tour
Jesse Schwartzmann      Johns Hopkins '07     Denver Outlaws

Sites picked for Big East tournaments

The Big East men's lacrosse championship, in its second year, will return to Villanova in 2013. The conference's women's championship will be held at Georgetown's Multi-Sport Field.


Both championships will take place May 2 and 4. The men's tournament was originally slated for Syracuse; the change comes after the Orange announced it is leaving the Big East for the Atlantic Coast Conference and negotiated a cash settlement to leave the conference at the end of 2013.

Both the men's and women's championships are four-team, single-elimination tournaments. The top four teams according to conference winning percentage in the regular-season standings are selected and seeded.

The semifinals for both events will be held May 2, while the championship games are set for May 4. Game times will be determined at a later date.

The women's tournament champion receives the league's automatic bid to the 26-team NCAA Division I championship. The men's tournament champion will advance with an automatic berth to the 16-team Division I championship May 25-27 in Philadelphia.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun