Team USA roster announced for Champion Challenge vs. Loyola

US Lacrosse today announced the U.S. men's national team roster for the Sunday, Jan. 27 exhibition against defending NCAA champion Loyola at the Champion Challenge.

Scheduled for 1:30 p.m. at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., the eighth annual event will be the first in which the Team USA men take on the defending NCAA champion. Team USA also will face 2012 NCAA semifinalist Notre Dame on Jan. 26, with Jacksonville University also scheduled to participate in the event.


The reigning world champion U.S. men's national team, which defeated Canada to win the 2010 Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship, will bring 38 players to evaluate prior to tryouts for the 2014 U.S. men's national team, to be held Aug. 30-Sept. 2, 2013. At the 2012 Champion Challenge, Team USA defeated Denver, 16-15 in overtime.

Here's the Team USA roster by position with professional teams, college alma maters, high schools (if local to Baltimore) and previous U.S. team experience noted:



Billy Bitter, Rochester Rattlers, North Carolina
Grant Catalino, Long Island Lizards, Maryland
Matt Danowski, Charlotte Hounds, Duke
Matt Gibson, Long Island Lizards, Yale
Mike Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse*
Kevin Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Massachusetts
Steele Stanwick, Ohio Machine, Virginia, Loyola High^
Chazz Woodson, Ohio Machine, Brown


Sam Bradman, LXM Pro Tour, Salisbury
Steven Brooks, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse
Steven DeNapoli, Rochester Rattlers, Hofstra
Benson Erwin, N/A, Johns Hopkins, Friends
Graham Gill, LXM Pro Tour, Navy
Kyle Harrison, LXM Pro Tour, Johns Hopkins, Friends#
Ben Hunt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, North Carolina, Severna Park
Cameron Lao-Gosney, Hamilton Nationals, Lehigh
Roman Lao-Gosney, Hamilton Nationals, Lehigh
Peet Poillon, Charlotte Hounds, UMBC
Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons, Johns Hopkins*
Jeremy Sieverts, Denver Outlaws, Maryland, McDonogh
Kevin Unterstein, Long Island Lizards, Hofstra



CJ Costabile, Long Island Lizards, Duke^
Ryan Flanagan, Charlotte Hounds, North Carolina
Kyle Hartzell, Ohio Machine, Salisbury, Archbishop Curley
Brian Karalunas, Long Island Lizards, Villanova
John Lade, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse^
Eric Martin, Denver Outlaws, Salisbury*
Kevin Ridgway, N/A, Notre Dame
Dillon Roy, Denver Outlaws, Denver
Brett Schmidt, Charlotte Hounds, Maryland
Michael Simon, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Stevenson, Fallston
Chad Wiedmaier, Hamilton Nationals, Princeton
Lee Zink, Denver Outlaws, Maryland


Jordan Burke, Boston Cannons, Brown
John Galloway, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse
Scott Rodgers, Hamilton Nationals, Notre Dame


Chris Eck, Boston Cannons, Colgate
Alex Smith, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Delaware, Boys' Latin*

* 2010 U.S. men's national team member
# 2006 U.S. men's national team member
^ 2008 U.S. men's national under-19 team member

Recommended on Baltimore Sun