Snubs, surprises in Thursday's announcement of Tewaaraton Award finalists

The Tewaaraton Foundation announced the five finalists for the Tewaaraton Award on Thursday, and with an announcement such as this, there is bound to be argument and debate.

The finalists are Denver senior attackman Wesley Berg, Duke junior midfielder Myles Jones, Notre Dame junior attackman Matt Kavanagh, Syracuse senior attackman Kevin Rice and Albany senior attackman Lyle Thompson.


There likely won't be much grief about the inclusion of Thompson, Jones and Rice. Thompson, who shared the 2014 Tewaaraton Award with older brother Miles, is ranked second in Division I in both assists (59) and points (107).

Jones (39 goals and 36 assists) is the first midfielder in Blue Devils history to record 70 points in a single season. Rice is tied for fourth in the country in assists (39) and tied for 11th in points (68).


The debate could center around Kavanagh and Berg. Kavanagh leads the Fighting Irish in assists (24) and points (50) and ranks second in goals (26), but they lag behind last year's numbers of 42 goals, 33 assists and 75 points.

Berg is the Pioneers' all-time leader in goals with 173 and points with 237, but he is not the team's leading scorer. That honor goes to sophomore midfielder Connor Cannizzaro, a transfer from Maryland who has posted 48 goals and 31 assists and is Division I's top-scoring midfielder.

Cannizzaro is the most obvious omission from the pool of finalists. North Carolina senior attackman Jimmy Bitter is tied for ninth in the nation in points (69) and ranked 11th in assists (35). Brown sophomore attackman Dylan Molloy ranks second in goals (59) and third in points (89).

An argument could also be made for Stony Brook senior attackman Mike Rooney (first in assists with 63 and points with 111) and Princeton senior attackman Mike MacDonald (fifth in points with 78).