Salisbury's Nestor named IWLCA Division III Coach of the Year

Salisbury coach Jim Nestor has been named the National Division III Coach of the Year by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association.

Nestor led the Sea Gulls to a 23-0 record in 2013 and earned the program's second national title with a 12-5 victory against Trinity (Conn.). Salisbury was rarely tested during the regular season, never trailing at halftime and winning all 16 regular-season games by no fewer than six goals.

Nestor's award is the third time he has been honored as National Coach of the Year (2005, 2010) in 12 seasons of coaching Salisbury.

Other recipients of IWLCA awards included North Carolina's Jenny Levy (Roland Park) as National Division I Coach of the Year, LIU Post's Meghan McNamara (Maryland) as National Division II Coach of the Year, Penn State's Missy Doherty (Towson University, St. Mary's High) as Division I Mid-Atlantic Region Coach of the Year, Denver's Liza Kelly (Garrison Forest) as Division I West/Midwest Region Coach of the Year and Susquehanna's Laura Moan (Garrison Forest) as Division III Boardwalk Region Coach of the Year.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad