Maryland's Taylor Cummings named Tewaaraton Award winner

Maryland's Taylor Cummings was named a Tewaaraton Award winner Thursday night at the 14th annual ceremony honoring the top male and top female player in the college game at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Cummings, a McDonogh school graduate, is the first sophomore to win the women's award. Syacuse's Mike Powell was the only other sophomore winner, taking the first of his two Tewaaraton awards in 1992.


One of the most versatile players among the five finalists, Cummings led the No. 1 Terps to their first NCAA championship in four years. She led the Terps in goals with 63, draw controls with 128 and caused turnovers with 30. She also had 24 assists.

In Sunday's 15-12 victory over No. 2 Syracuse, Cummings had three goals, one assist and eight draw controls and was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player.

Throughout the NCAA tournament, she dominated the draw, jump starting the Terps high-scoring transition offense. In the title game, the Terps won the first five draws – two by Cummings – and took a 5-0 lead in less than five minutes.

In the four NCAA tournament games, she won 27 draws while the Terps' four opponents combined to win 30. With Cummings on the draw, the Terps won almost twice as many as their opponents.

The two-time first-team All-American also scored 12 goals and had one assist in the tournament, including three goals and an assist in the final.

A two-time All-Metro Player of the Year and Baltimore Sun Female Athlete of the Year, she led McDonogh to four straight Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference championships.

Maryland junior defender Megan Douty was also among the finalists who included two Syracuse attackers, sophomore Kayla Treanor and senior Alyssa Murray, and Florida junior midfielder Shannon Gilroy.

This is the third straight year a Maryland player has won the women's award and Cummings is the fourth Terp to claim the prize. Katie Schwarzmann (Century) won the past two years, Caitlyn McFadden (Notre Dame Prep) won in 2010 and Jen Adams won the first Tewaaraton in 2001.

Two other women players with local connections are past winners: Maryvale graduate Katie Chrest while at Duke in 2005 and UMBC coach Amy Appelt while at Virginia in 2004.