Maryland, Johns Hopkins win none of Big Ten's major men's lacrosse awards

Welcome to Snub City. Maryland, Johns Hopkins left out of Big Ten men's lacrosse's major awards.

Despite being the two highest-ranked teams in the latest Cascade/Maverik media poll and two of the top three seeds in the upcoming Big Ten tournament, No. 3 Maryland and No. 9 Johns Hopkins were left out when the conference’s major awards were announced Tuesday.

No. 17 Rutgers (10-4 overall and 3-2 in the league), the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten tournament, boasted the Offensive Player of the Year in senior attackman Scott Bieda, the Freshman of the Year in redshirt freshman attackman Adam Charalambides, and the Coach of the Year in Brian Brecht. The Scarlet Knights also placed sophomore attackman Jules Heningburg on the first team.

Ohio State (7-8, 2-3), which did not qualify for the conference tournament, was represented by the Defensive Player of the Year in senior defenseman Robby Haus (Gilman) and the Specialist of the Year in junior faceoff specialist Jake Withers.

The Terps (12-2, 5-0), the top seed in the Big Ten tournament, put redshirt senior goalkeeper Kyle Bernlohr, senior midfielder Bryan Cole and junior short-stick defensive midfielder Isaiah Davis-Allen on the first team.

The Blue Jays (8-5, 3-2), the No. 3 seed, placed senior attackman Ryan Brown (Calvert Hall) and sophomore attackman Shack Stanwick (Boys’ Latin) on the first team. Brown, a unanimous choice, was the league’s Offensive Player of the Year in 2015.

Maryland had four honorable-mention selections in redshirt senior long-stick midfielder Greg Danseglio, junior attackman Colin Heacock (Boys’ Latin), sophomore defenseman Tim Muller, and junior attackman Matt Rambo. Johns Hopkins was represented by junior midfielder John Crawley and junior defenseman Nick Fields.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad