Desisa, Jeptoo win Boston Marathon


Clarksville's Tatyana McFadden says she played to her strengths in winning this year's Boston Marathon.


"My weakness, I think everyone knows, is going downhill," she told reporters Monday afternoon. "My strength is definitely on the flats and climing."

"I'm an oddball -- I really enjoy climbing."


McFadden mentioned that her high school time on the east coast helped prepare her for the Boston landscape.


Women's official results are up:

1.) Rita Jeptoo (KEN) at 2:26:25,

2.) Meseret Hailu (ETH) at 2:26.58 and

3.) Sharon Cherop (KEN) in 2:27.01

4.) Shalane Flanagan (USA) 2:27:08

On the men's side, top American competitor Jason Hartmann repeated his fourth-place finish, two spots behind winner Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia. Desisa's unofficial finish time of 2:10:22 is roughly seven minutes slower than the course record.


As the female elite runners race through the streets of Boston toward their final mile, Anna Felix continues to lead, with her 23-mile split of 20:9:46 just announced by organizers. American Shalane Flanagan has moved back to fifth place as the back moves up on Felix.


Women's wheel winner Tatyana McFadden of Clarksville told WBZ in Boston that she at first struggled in what she called "a really tough race."


"It took me almost half the marathon to catch the lead pack," she told the station.

"The race is not over until you get over the line."

The Boston Rookie said that fan support at heartbreak hill was key.

"That's the breaking point between you and the pack, so I knew you needed to hit that hill hard there."

The London Marathon is next for McFadden.


The men's pack remains tightly knit, but it's now following Robin Watson of Canada, who has opened up a roughly 10-second gap.


The men's race is currently being led by

On the women's side, Anna Felix of Portugal has come up from a distantly separated follwing pack to pass Yolanda Caballero of Columbia. Caballero led through most of the first portion of the women's race.

In women's wheelchair division, Tatyana McFadden of Clarksville has added a 2013 Boston Marathon to her already large collection of paralympic medals.


Boston Marathon organizers have released their official participation number for all divisions. Including wheel racers, 24,662 people are taking part in today's races.


The unofficial hand push cart winning time is 1:25:32, raced by Hiroyuki Yamamoto of Japan. Yamamoto was followed by Ernst Van Dyk in second. In the men's elite footrace, 2012 winner Wesley Korir of Kenya is running with a tight pack near mile 1. Yolanda Caballero of Columbia continues to lead a large chase pack by about 200 meters.


The women's pack condenses behind now-isolated Yolanda Caballero. Meanwhile, Boston Marathon organizers have announced that the official men's 10K split was 30:53.


The men's lead pack went through their 5K mark in 15:34, which Boston Marathon organizers project would equate to a 2:11:20 final time for the race as a whole.


The second wave of the Boston Marathon has started.


After just over a mile in the men's race, Jason Hartmann, last year's 4th-place finisher, is leading a pack of three. The second pack of elites is roughly seven to eight seconds behind the leaders, according to race timers. In the female race, Diana Sigei of Kenya is has joined Yolanda Caballero of Columbia to form a two-person lead pack.

10:00 a.m.

The elite men have started.

9:53 a.m.

The elite men are now lining up for their race, which will also start the first wave of the marathon. That group will include last year's male winner, Wesley Korir, who has joined Kenya's legislature since his wiin last year. Meanwhile, Kamitanida appears to have dropped back in hte women's race, leaving a pack of four.

9:48 a.m.

Yolanda Caballero continues to trail by a stride in a Boston Marathon women's pack that also includes Japanese runners  Manami Kamitanida and Yuka Yano.

9:42 a.m.

10 minutes into the women's elite race, Manami Kamitanida, who is not a top seed, has led for roughly two miles. Her roughly 15-stride gap, however, has now been closed by other runners, forming a three-person lead pack. Two of those three -- Kamitanida and Yuka Yano -- are Japanese runners.

9:32 a.m.

The elite women have started.

9:31 a.m.

The elite women have lined up for their start in Hopkinton. The front row of five runners  includes Rita Jeptoo, Kara Goucher,  Massachusetts native Shalane Flanagan and last year's winner, Sharon Cherop.

9:22 a.m.

The handcycle participants have started.

9:17 a.m.

The push rim wheelchair division has started.

Among the registered push rim participants is Marylander Tatyana McFadden of Clarksville, who has over a dozen paralympic medals to her name. From The Baltimore Sun's March 2012 profile of McFadden:

World-class track athlete Tatyana McFadden is not a flashy person. Soft-spoken with a thin face, dark brown eyes and a deceptively muscular frame, she is not the type to speak of her accomplishments without some prompting. But when she does talk about her accolades, she lets people know that success hasn't come easy.

"I've worked hard for it," says the Clarksville resident, who is paraplegic.

Read the full 2012 profile here. Read an update from December here.

8:39 a.m.

Twenty minutes before the scheduled mobility impaired program start, it is 41°F in Hopkinton, MA.

The start schedule is as follows (as copied directly from race materials):


9:00 a.m. -- Mobility Impaireed Program start


9:17 a.m. -- Push Rim Wheelchair Division start

9:22 a.m. -- Handcycle Participants start

9:32 a.m. -- Elite Women's start

10:00 a.m. -- Elite men's start and First Wave

10:20 a.m. -- Second Wave

10;40 a.m. -- Third Wave

The cool weather today comes in sharp contrast with last year's race, in which many runners were unable to cope with unseasonably hot temperatures.

Check back at this url for updates throughout the race.

-- Patrick Maynard

Recommended on Baltimore Sun