Notebook: Team STX edges Team Sole in LXM Pro finale in Calif.

The LXM Pro Challenge had its final stop on the 2012 tour Saturday night in Del Mar, Calif., and Team STX defeated Team Sole, 15-12, in their series' seventh game, a contest that featured nine lead changes and eight ties. Team STX had already clinched the series victory with a 22-20 win in Henderson, Nev., on Dec. 1.

After his record-setting seven-goal performance in Nevada, Sam Bradman (Salisbury) started right where he left off and beat former Sea Gulls teammate Johnny Rodriguez to give Team STX the early 1-0 lead. Team STX would then extend the lead to 3-0 when former Maryland players Max and Xander Ritz each scored early goals.


Team Sole would respond with a six-goal run of its own. Sean Lindsay and Brandon Corp scored twice, while former Chesapeake Bayhawk Johnny Christmas and Geoff Worley each got one.

Trailing 6-4, Team STX pulled within a goal when Bradman scored to start the second quarter. The teams would trade goals, with Shamel Bratton scoring twice to give Team STX a 10-9 lead at half.


After the offensive explosion in the first half, both defenses clamped down in the second. Team STX goalie Matt Russell (Navy) and his counterpart, Rodriguez, continued to make highlight-reel saves to keep their teams neck and neck. Lindsay would momentarily put Team Sole up with his third goal, but Bobby Davis would enter the stat sheet after getting free after a beautiful pick from Maxx Davis (Friends, UMBC) with four minutes left in the quarter to tie the game at 11.

The goal of the game came with 11:30 in the fourth quarter. With a man-up opportunity, Team Sole rode a Team STX clear. After causing a turnover, Lindsay picked up a ground ball and threw a cross-field pass to J.R. Oreskovich, then dumped it to Corp, who went behind the back to beat Russell.

However, six seconds later Ben DeFelice (Towson High, Towson University) won the faceoff cleanly and went right down the middle, tying the game at 12. After being held in check most of the night, Kyle Harrison (Friends, Johns Hopkins) scored his second goal, which would prove to be the game-winner. Displaying his vintage move, Harrison dodged the alley and beat Rodriguez high on the stick side. Bratton and Mike Von Kamecke (Salisbury) would pad Team STX's lead in the final minutes for the 15-12 win.

Team Sole's Corp led all scorers with five goals. Game Most Valuable Player honors went to Team STX's Bratton.

MLL draft to be aired on YouTube, MLL Radio

Friday's 2013 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft will be streamed live via MLL's YouTube Channel with CBS Sports Network MLL analyst and "Inside the MLL" host Evan Washburn and ESPN lacrosse analyst Quint Kessenich covering the action. The draft will begin at 8:30 p.m. in the Philadelphia Marriott's Liberty Ballroom. This will mark the 13th Collegiate Draft in MLL history.
The draft can also be heard live via MLL Radio with LaxDirt's Tim Thomas and LacrosseTalk's Dan Matthews on the call and additional analysis from LaxDirt's Tom Bovee.
MLL fans will also be able to follow the draft through MLL's social media platforms on Twitter (, Facebook ( and on Instagram (
The draft will consist of eight rounds. The first-round order can be found below, and a full list of the 2013 MLL Collegiate Draft order is here.
Round 1
1. Ohio
2. Hamilton
3. Charlotte
4. Chesapeake (from Charlotte from Rochester)
5. New York
6. Boston
7. Denver
8. Charlotte (from Chesapeake)

Local trio sign with High Point

High Point announced that it has signed attackman Michael LeClair (Mount St. Joseph), midfielder Sean Harrison (Marriotts Ridge) goalie Skyler Morse (St. Mary's) to play starting with the 2014 season.


LeClair is an Under Armour All-American and was an All-Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association selection last year.

"Michael comes from an MIAA school in Mount St. Joseph, which is regarded as the best lacrosse conference in the country," High Point coach Jon Torpey said. "He is a very dynamic attackman. He can see the field well, dodge and feed the ball. He has been playing with and against some of the best lacrosse players in the country for the last four years and has the potential to develop into a phenomenal Division I player."

Harrison scored 47 goals and picked up 97 ground balls as a junior to earn All-County and All-Metro honors. Harrison also helped Marriotts Ridge to a state championship in soccer in 2011.

"Sean is a big, aggressive presence in the midfield," Torpey said. "He is a humble, hardworking person off the field, but on the field he is incredibly competitive. He shoots the ball on the run as well as any player I have had the opportunity to coach."

Morse, a left-hander, was a three-year starter at Saint Mary's. He made 190 saves as a sophomore and 212 as a junior. He earned All-County honors both years and was an Inside Lacrosse Player to Watch in 2011.

"Skyler is a three-year starter at an MIAA school," Torpey said. "Assistant coach Mike Phipps saw him play and immediately expressed interest in bringing him to High Point. He has a great presence in the cage and does a great job running the defense."


Greater Baltimore Chapter Hall of Fame induction info released

Former Loyola women's lacrosse All-Americans Tricia Dabrowski of Timonium and Suzanne (Eyler) Williams of Street will be among the 10-member Class of 2013 set to be inducted into the US Lacrosse Greater Baltimore Chapter Hall of Fame on Jan. 19, the organization has announced.

The ceremony will be from 5:30 p.m. to 10 p.m. at Hillendale Country Club. Tickets cost $90 and are available online at For more information, contact Monica Yeakel at

Dabrowski and Williams helped lead the Greyhounds to a 75-21 record from 1999 to 2003, including a 24-2 mark in four years of Colonial Athletic Association play. The Greyhounds won two CAA regular-season and tournament titles with Dabrowski and Williams and advanced to five straight NCAA tournaments, including making three semifinal appearances.

They will join Jennifer Breakey (Loch Raven, Towson), Kara Carlin (Park School, Franklin & Marshall), Megan Clark (South River, James Madison), Mickey Jarboe (Calvert Hall, Navy), Bob Martino (Washington College), Lorne Smith (Gilman, Princeton), John Taylor (Gilman, Navy) and Rick Wey (Calvert Hall, UMBC) as 2013 inductees.