Hopkins, City grad Scroggs to receive IMLCA Creators Award

Baltimore native Willie Scroggs, who led North Carolina to three national titles in a six-year span, will receive the Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association Creators Award on Dec. 13.

The awards luncheon will be held during the IMLCA convention in Baltimore.

A graduate of City, Scroggs played midfield at Johns Hopkins and later served as the top assistant coach for seven years. In July 1978 he was hired to take over a North Carolina program on shaky ground; according to a 1981 Sports Illustrated article, 14 players were suspended during the 1978 season.


Scroggs revamped the program and led it to the 1981, 1982 and 1986 NCAA Division I championships and a 120-37 record during his tenure. In addition, his teams advanced to the NCAA semifinals six other times. The Tar Heels captured the 1981, 1982, 1985, 1988, 1989 and 1990 Atlantic Coast Conference titles.

Scroggs retired from coaching in 1990 to become the senior associate athletic director for operations at North Carolina, where he currently continues as a leader in the athletics department.

In addition to his on-field success, Scroggs has been an integral part of the history of the sport as a member of the NCAA Men's Lacrosse Committee and NCAA Men's Lacrosse Rules Committee.

The Creators Award is bestowed periodically to an IMLCA member for achievements in the core areas of advocacy, leadership, education, honor, spirit and service to the game of lacrosse.

Past recipients of the IMLCA Creators Award

2006 Sid Jamieson, Bucknell
2007 Fred Acee, SUNY Farmingdale, Air Force
2008 Dick Edell, Maryland
2009 Mike Messere, West Genesee High (Fairmount, N.Y.)
2010 Richie Moran, Cornell
2011 Jack Emmer, Cortland, Washington & Lee, Army
2012 Dave Urick, Hobart, Georgetown

St. Paul's M. Wynne switches commitment to Notre Dame

St. Paul's senior crease attackman Mikey Wynne has switched his oral commitment from Cornell to Notre Dame, Inside Lacrosse reported.

Wynne, who played his first two seasons at Glenelg, was an All-Metro second-team pick last season after scoring a team-record 69 goals. He joins a 2014 recruiting class that is an early candidate to be chosen best in the nation.

Ex-Bayhawk Grant signs deal with Mammoth

Two-time National Lacrosse League MVP and former Chesapeake Bayhawk John Grant Jr. will finish his NLL career with the Colorado Mammoth, the team announced Wednesday. The nine-time All-Star and nine-time All-Pro forward signed a four-year deal. It will be the final contract of his indoor career for the former Delaware All-American, who also stars in Major League Lacrosse.

The Peterborough, Ontario, native and his family permanently moved to Denver last month after the Bayhawks traded to him to the Denver Outlaws following Chesapeake's championship season.

"For years, I wanted to play in Colorado," Grant said. "The Mammoth organization and its tremendous fans have embraced me since my arrival prior to the 2011 season."

In Grant's three years in a Mammoth uniform, he's scored a league-best 129 goals. His 290 points are also tops in the NLL during the span.

"Some thought John was past his prime when we traded for him in October 2010," said Mammoth president and general manager Steve Govett. "It's fair to say that he's proven all of the naysayers wrong."

Last season, the left-hander passed legend Gary Gait for third on the league's all-time scoring list. Grant also is third all-time in MLL points with 403, just two behind the Bayhawks' Casey Powell and 19 back of the Boston Cannons' Ryan Boyle (Gilman).

Baltimore Hawks tryouts

The Baltimore Hawks will hold tryouts for their 2015 and 2016 summer club teams Sunday, Nov. 10 from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. at Mustang Stadium on the Owings Mills campus of Stevenson. For more information, contact Tim Puls at 443-352-4298 or email gtpuls@stevenson.edu.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun