Baltimore Sun’s BEST party in 2 weeks

Jake Layman nominated for Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award

A new college basketball award is named for Karl Malone -- and Jake Layman is among the nominees.

Physically, Jake Layman doesn't fit the profile of a power forward in the mold of Karl Malone. But Layman's ability to play a stretch-4 position has been one of the key element's to Maryland's success this season.

The junior is being recognized as such, as he's among 16 nominees for the inaugural Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The 6-foot-9 Layman has averaged 13.5 points per game and ranks sixth in the Big Ten in rebounding (6.6 per game). Both are bumps from last season, when he averaged 11.7 points and 5.0 rebounds.

The nominees for the Karl Malone Award will be trimmed to five in early March. Malone -- a Louisiana Tech star before he spent 19 years in the NBA -- will then have a voice in deciding the winner, along with  the Hall of Fame's selection committee.

The winner will be honored at ESPN's new college basketball awards show in Los Angeles on April 10.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad

Nominees for Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award:


Rondae Hollins-Jefferson, Arizona

Justin Moss, Buffalo

Kevon Looney, UCLA

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

David Laury, Iona 

Aaron White, Iowa

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Jordan Mickey, Louisiana State

Montrezl Harrell, Louisville

Jake Layman, Maryland

Christian Wood, UNLV

Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa

Myles Turner, Texas

Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming

Rico Gathers, Baylor