Notebook: Website creates video on Sticks for Soldiers fundraiser

In November, more than 700 high school boys and girls lacrosse players on 46 teams — and over 400 adult volunteers, supporters, active military, alumni and spectators — came together to raise more than $65,000 for two severely wounded Connecticut soldiers, including U.S. Army Capt. Gregory Galeazzi, a 2007 graduate of Loyola's Army ROTC program, at the seventh annual Sticks for Soldiers Thanksgiving Lacrosse Tournament in Fairfield, Conn.

Both soldiers were seriously wounded with bilateral leg amputations and other injuries in separate IED explosions in Afghanistan in 2011


A video website called HooplaHa, which calls itself a "good news" site, created an original video about the event, which you can watch below. Read more about this year's event here.

Llewellyn joins Hobart roster


Hobart announced the addition of 14 players for the 2013 season, including 5-foot-9, 165-pound midfielder Gavin Llewellyn (St. Paul's). A team captain of the lacrosse and soccer teams in 2012, Llewellyn was a member of the Baltimore Under Armour and Maryland Freestate teams. He was a four-year letterman and two-time MIAA champion in soccer, and he also played basketball for St. Paul's.

"Gavin is really explosive and quick," Hobart coach T.W. Johnson said. "He will be able to break down a defender and create offense for us."

ESPN announces broadcast schedule

The 2013 ESPN college lacrosse schedule features the debut of the ESPNU Wednesday Men's Lacrosse Game of the Week and coverage across ESPNU and online totals 53 games, including seven women's games.

All ESPNU programming will be available on computers at and on smartphones and tablets via the WatchESPN app to fans who receive their video subscription from an affiliated provider.

All of Inside Lacrosse's 2013 spring events will be broadcast on the ESPN family of networks: The Whitman's Sampler Independence Classic on Saturday, March 9; the Whitman's Sampler Mile High Classic on Saturday, March 16; the Konica Minolta Face-Off Classic on March 23; and the Konica Minolta Big City Classic on April 27.

Also, the entire Atlantic Coast Conference men's championship, the Big East men's semifinals and championship, and the America East and Ivy League championship games will be aired.

The schedule also features seven women's games. The entire women's schedule can be found on


More details, from ESPN's release:

  • ESPNU will be the home to 38 games (33 in the regular season): 36 men’s and two women’s matchups.
  • The Wednesday Men’s Game of the Week on ESPNU opens March 6 and runs through April 10, including a top-10 matchup between ACC rivals No. 4 Duke at No. 5 North Carolina on March 13, at 7:30 p.m.
  • ESPNU will air all three games of the ACC men’s championship from Chapel Hill, N.C., on Friday, April 26 and Sunday, April 28, while the 24-hour sports network will carry a BIG EAST men’s semifinal and the title game, along with America East and Ivy League men’s title games.
    ESPN3 will have a minimum of 15 games — 10 men’s and five women’s, plus a live airing of a Big East Men’s Championship semifinal game on Thursday, May 2.
  • The men’s schedule includes at least one appearance from 14 of the 16 teams that qualified for the 2012 NCAA Championship.
  • A rematch of the 2012 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship semifinal featuring Maryland at Duke will air Saturday, March 2 at 11 a.m. on ESPNU.
  • An additional Top 5 men’s game includes North Carolina at Maryland on Saturday, March 23, at noon (ESPN3).
  • The women’s schedule includes at least one appearance from five teams in the Face-Off Yearbook Top 20 – No. 3 Northwestern, No. 6 Duke, No. 9 Penn State, No. 13 Georgetown and No. 16 Johns Hopkins.
  • The entire ACC women’s championship, also from Chapel Hill, N.C., will be on ESPN3 on Friday, April 26 and Sunday, April.

This season, the network's telecasts will include a deep roster of experienced analysts: Ryan Boyle (four-time All-American at Princeton), Paul Carcaterra (All-American at Syracuse and a member of 1995 national championship team), Mark Dixon (former Johns Hopkins midfielder), Ryan Flanagan (All-American defenseman at UNC), Quint Kessenich (four-time All-American at Johns Hopkins and Baltimore Sun contributor), Jamie Munro (All-American at Brown and former Denver coach) and Matt Ward (former Virginia attackman and 2006 Tewaaraton Award winner). Play-by-play announcers include: ESPNU's Anish Shroff, Joe Beninati (Bowdoin College goalie and Washington Capitals play-by-play man), Mike Corey and Eamon McAnaney (Notre Dame defenseman). Courtney Martinez-Connor (four-time NCAA championship winner at Maryland) will handle analysis of the women's games.

Inside Lacrosse contributed.