Five finalists for Tewaaraton Award announced Thursday

The Tewaaraton Foundation unveiled the identities of the five finalists for the Tewaaraton Award, and 2014 co-Tewaaraton winner Lyle Thompson is one of the finalists.

The other four are Denver senior attackman Wesley Berg, Duke junior midfielder Myles Jones, Notre Dame junior attackman Matt Kavanagh and Syracuse senior attackman Kevin Rice.


Thompson -- a senior attackman at Albany who shared last year's honor with brother Miles, who has since graduated -- is trying to become the first repeat winner in the award's 15-year history. He ranks second among all Division I players in assists (59) and points (107).

Berg is the Pioneers' all-time leader in goals with 173 and points with 237. He is tied for 17th in the country in goals (43), and his 173 goals are the most among active players.


Jones became the first midfielder in Blue Devils' history to produce more than 70 points in a season. The nation's second-leading scoring midfielder leads the two-time reigning national champions in assists (36) and points (75).

Kavanagh leads the Fighting Irish in both assists (24) and points (50). He is tied for 18th in Division I in assists per game (2.0).

Rice is tied for fourth in the country in assists (39) and tied for 11th in points (68). He was named the Atlantic Coast Conference's Offensive Player of the Year.

The finalists for the Tewaaraton Award -- which annually recognizes the top collegiate player -- were selected from a pool of 25 candidates. The winner will be announced during a ceremony in Washington, D.C., on May 28.