Bayhawks lead MLL teams with eight All-Star Game selections

The Chesapeake Bayhawks are the defending Major League Lacrosse champions, so it's fitting that no team will be better represented at next month's All-Star Game.

Eight Bayhawks were chosen to play July 13 at American Legion Memorial Stadium in Charlotte, N.C., the team announced Monday.


This year's All-Star teams will be selected from a pool of 38 players the night before the game by the two winners of the MLL Ultimate Fan Fantasy Contest.

Representing the Bayhawks are attackmen Ben Rubeor (Loyola High) and Drew Westervelt (UMBC, John Carroll); defensemen Barney Ehrmann (Gilman) and Michael Evans (Johns Hopkins); goalie Kip Turner (Severn); and midfielders Matt Abbott, Steven Brooks, and Kyle Dixon (Archbishop Spalding).

On offense, Westervelt (fifth nomination) leads the team in goals with 18 and tallies a total 24 points with six assists, while Dixon (fifth nomination) follows with a total 24 points on five goals, including four 2-pointers, and 15 assists. Rubeor (first nomination) has also been a standout this season with 23 points on 18 goals and five assists.

Earning the third All-Star selection of their MLL careers, Brooks and Abbott round out the offensive lineup with 14 and 11 points, respectively. Abbott also leads the team in ground balls with 27.

From the defensive end, Turner (first nomination) has been stellar this season, making 107 saves with a .611 save percentage, good for second overall in the league. Ehrmann (first nomination) has tallied 20 ground balls over eight games, and Evans (fourth nomination) rounds out the nominees with his shutdown defense.

The All-Stars will also be wearing specially designed jerseys that will be auctioned off following the game to benefit JDRF, the All-Star Game's charity.

Tickets for the game are available at ticketmaster.com, by calling Ticketmaster at 1-800-745-3000, or by visiting any Ticketmaster outlet.

The Bayhawks return home Thursday, July 18 against the Boston Cannons at 7:30 p.m. at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun