Seven Baltimore Colts greats to be inducted into Hall of Legends

Baltimore Colts Hall of Famers Art Donovan, Lenny Moore, Gino Marchetti, Raymond Berry, Weeb Ewbank, John Mackey and Jim Parker will be inducted into the Hall of Legends at the Sports Legends Museum on Dec. 6, the Babe Ruth Birthplace Foundation announced today.

The group will join previous inductees Babe Ruth, Johnny Unitas, Art Modell, Jim McKay, Brooks Robinson and Gary Williams in the Hall of Legends, an area at Sports Legends Museum at Camden Yards reserved for the elite of Maryland's sports culture.


"A Legendary Evening: Celebrating our Baltimore Colts Hall of Famers" will take place on Dec. 6 at Martin's West and pay tribute to the former Colts.

"Each year, our gala celebrates a significant figure or crowning achievement in Maryland sports history," stated Mike Gibbons, executive director of the Babe Ruth Birthplace Foundation. "So when you think about tradition, excellence and significance, these men all come to mind. The Baltimore Colts provided great joy to this community for a very long time and the bond that existed between the players and the fans is something that, I believe, will never be matched. It's an honor for us to celebrate these seven amazing figures in Baltimore's sports heritage."


Each former Colt has an impressive resume:

• Donovan was the first Colt to be enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1968. A defensive tackle, Donovan played for the Colts from 1952-1961 and was a key part of the team's success in the 1950s. He made five Pro Bowls and is regarded as one of the best defensive tackles in league history.

• Moore was NFL Rookie of the Year in 1956 after being drafted from Penn State in the first round. Moore scored touchdowns in a record 18 straight games from 1963-1965 and gained 12,451 combined net yards (5,174 yards rushing, 363 receptions for 6,039 yards) during his Colts career (1956-1967). He made seven Pro Bowls was enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1975.

• Marchetti was named the top defensive end of the NFL's first 50 years and is regarded as one of the game's greatest and most feared defensive linemen. He played 13 seasons with the Colts and was selected for a then-record 11 straight Pro Bowls. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1972.

• Berry caught a then record 631 receptions for 9,275 yards and 68 touchdowns in 13 seasons, most of his receptions came from the arm of Unitas. Berry made six Pro Bowls and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1973.

• Ewbank won 130 games over a 20-year career and became the only coach in NFL history to win a championship with a team in the National League (Baltimore Colts, 1958 & 1959) and American League (New York Jets, 1968). He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1978.

• Parker was a first-round pick of the colts in 1957 and spent half of his 11-year career at tackle and the other half at guard. Parker played in eight Pro Bowls and was the first full-time offensive linemen inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

• Mackey, who passed away over the summer, was the final member of the Baltimore Colts to be enshrined in Canton as part of the Class of 1992. The tight end played nine seasons with the Colts, and finished his career with 331 receptions for 5,236 yards and 38 touchdowns. He played in five Pro Bowls. Mackey was a force off the field as well, serving as the first president of the National Football League Players Association.


Individual tickets are $150 and include a cocktail reception with open, premium bar from 5:30 p.m. -- 6:30 p.m., silent auction, seated dinner and program; reserved tables of 10 are available for $1,500. Contact Whitney Edmonds at 410-727-1539 ext. 3033 or via email at

to purchase tickets or a sponsorship.