Albany's Miles and Lyle Thompson win the 2014 Tewaaraton Award

In an unprecedented move, Albany's Miles and Lyle Thompson won the 2014 Tewaaraton Award, becoming the first players to share the honor.

The brothers also became the first Native Americans to take home an award given to the top collegiate player in a sport that traces its roots to Native American origin.


Miles and Lyle Thompson – Onondaga Indians who were honored on Thursday night at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. – are also the first pair of brothers win the award.

"It is the best feeling to share the award with my brother and be the first Native Americans to win it," Miles Thompson said via Albany's sports information office. "No words can express this feeling."

Added Lyle Thompson: "Words cannot describe how happy I am, it brought tears to my eyes. To share the award with my brother is an honor."

Lyle Thompson, a junior attackman, became the fifth underclassmen and third in the last four years to capture lacrosse's version of the Heisman Trophy. He accumulated 128 points on 51 goals and 77 assists, shattering the NCAA Division I record for points in a single season of 114 set by former UMBC attackman Steve Marohl in 1992.

Thompson – who won the Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award (outstanding player) and the Lt. Col. J.I. (Jack) Turnbull Award (outstanding attackman) – is the first player in Division I history to register back-to-back campaigns of 100 points and tied Marohl's Division I record for assists.

Miles Thompson, a senior attackman, also eclipsed Marohl's record with 119 points on 82 goals and 37 assists, and he tied former Yale midfielder Jon Reese's Division I record for goals in a single season set in 1990.

The Thompson brothers beat out a group of finalists that included Duke senior attackman Jordan Wolf, who amassed 103 points on 64 goals and 39 assists and helped the Blue Devils capture their second straight national championship; Loyola senior defenseman Joe Fletcher, who posted 80 ground balls and 31 caused turnovers and joined Virginia's Ken Clausen in 2010 as the only defensemen to be finalists for the award; and Princeton senior midfielder Tom Schreiber, who racked up 51 points on 30 goals and 21 assists and is the only midfielder in Ivy League history with 100 goals and 90 assists.