Howard County Del. Vanessa Atterbeary gets committee chairmanship

Howard County Del. Vanessa Atterbeary is the new chairperson of a key committee in the state legislature that handles taxes, gambling and education issues.

Atterbeary, a Democrat, was named to lead the House of Delegates Ways and Means Committee by House Speaker Adrienne A. Jones.


Atterbeary replaces Del. Anne Kaiser, a Montgomery County Democrat who stepped down from her leadership post and who has been moved to another committee.

In a statement last week, Jones said Atterbeary has “proven herself to be a leader that can bring members together, forge consensus and create meaningful change.” Atterbeary’s most recent post was vice chair of the Judiciary Committee, where she helped shape a sweeping package of policing reforms. She also has focused on gun control measures.


Taking Atterbeary’s place as vice chair of the House Judiciary Committee is Del. David Moon, a Montgomery County Democrat who has pushed for progressive criminal justice reforms, including advocating for marijuana legalization.

Also, Jones named freshman Del. Brian Crosby, a Southern Maryland Democrat, as vice chair of the Economic Matters Committee, which handles business regulation issues. Crosby will take the place of Del. Kathleen Dumais, who is leaving the legislature to accept an appointment to be a judge in Montgomery County.

Dumais also had been the co-chair of the Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, where she’ll be replaced by Del. Sandy Bartlett, an Anne Arundel County Democrat.

Lawmakers will return Dec. 6 to Annapolis for a special session to adopt a new map for congressional districts. The regular legislative session is scheduled to convene Jan. 12.

For the record

This story has been updated to correct the county that Del. Anne Kaiser represents. The Sun regrets the error.