Baltimore County Democrats have to fill two House of Delegates vacancies. Get your applications ready.

Baltimore County Democrats are inviting candidates to apply to fill two vacancies in the House of Delegates.

Del. Eric Bromwell, who represents District 8 in the northeastern part of the county, and Del. Stephen Lafferty, who represents District 42A in Towson, are resigning from the legislature to take jobs in County Executive Johnny Olszewski Jr.'s administration.


Once their resignations are official — which is expected to happen Friday — the Baltimore County Democratic State Central Committee will accept applications for both positions, according to an announcement from the committee. Applications will be accepted until the close of business Sept. 20.

An applicant must be a registered Democrat who has lived in the state for one year and in the district for at least six months.


Applicants should send a resume and a letter detailing their “professional, civic and political experience” to the central committee at or to P.O. Box 19092, Towson, MD 21284.

The county central committee members from District 8 and District 42A will review the applications and interview candidates, then make a recommendation to the full committee. Interviews, which have not yet been scheduled, will be open to the public.

The full central committee plans to vote on Oct. 1 at 7 p.m. at the party headquarters, 301 Allegheny Ave. in Towson.

Gov. Larry Hogan, a Republican, ultimately will make the appointments to the House of Delegates. He could reject nominees, but he is required to appoint individuals who have been recommended by the central committee.

The names of applicants will be posted online at

So far four people have announced their candidacy for Lafferty’s seat: education and community activist Cathi Forbes, health and disability-rights activist Cheryl Gottleib, community activist Jessica Klaitman and Henry Callegary, president of the county’s Young Democrats club.

Two people have announced their candidacy for Bromwell’s seat: Nina McHugh and Carl Jackson, who narrowly missed win a delegate seat in the district last year.