Use Code BALT69 for a $69 Ticket to One Day University on July 9

Six Maryland incumbents heading back to Congress

Six Maryland incumbents heading back to Congress

Six Maryland incumbents in the House of Representatives — five Democrats and a Republican — coasted to reelection on Tuesday.

Democratic Reps. Elijah E. Cummings of Baltimore, C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger of Baltimore County, John Sarbanes of Baltimore County, John Delaney of Montgomery County and Steny Hoyer of Southern Maryland and Republican Rep. Andy Harris of Baltimore County all won reelection.

Joining them in Washington in January will be newcomers Anthony Brown, the Democratic former lieutenant governor from Prince George's County who lost the 2014 gubernatorial election to Republican Larry Hogan, and Jamie Raskin, a Democratic state senator from Montgomery County.

Raskin will succeed Democratic Rep. Chris Van Hollen, who won election to the Senate on Tuesday, in the 8th Congressional District. Brown will succeed Democratic Rep. Donna Edwards, who lost to Van Hollen in the Democratic Senate primary in April, in the 4th Congressional District.

The loss of Edwards and the retirement of Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski mean Maryland will send an all-male delegation to Congress next year for the first time since 1971.

The party makeup of the delegation will remain the same for the third straight Congress: Two Democratic senators, seven Democratic House members and one Republican House member.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad