Some races in Arundel, Baltimore, Harford may be decided by absentee ballots

Thank you for supporting our journalism. This article is available exclusively for our subscribers, who help fund our work at The Baltimore Sun.

The results from the primary election have left several local races without resolution, and on Thursday local boards of election will begin counting absentee ballots to decide winners and losers.

In Baltimore County, the contest to pick a Republican who will face incumbent Democrat County Executive Kevin Kamenetz in November was too close to call after the close of polls Tuesday.


With more than 20,000 votes cast between them, George Harman, a retired program manager for the state Department of the Environment, had a 22-vote lead over Tony Campbell, a political science professor at Towson University who once served as chairman of the county Republican Party.

About 600 absentee ballots were cast in that primary and will be counted starting Thursday, according to county elections director Katie Brown.


In Anne Arundel County, 36 votes separated the top two vote-getters in a Republican primary for County Council in the Severna Park and Broadneck area.

At the end of election night, Michael Anthony Peroutka had 2,253 votes to Maureen Carr-York's 2,217. Incumbent Councilman Dick Ladd was third with 1,794, and others trailed far behind.

Maryland Policy & Politics


Keep up to date with Maryland politics, elections and important decisions made by federal, state and local government officials.

Also in Anne Arundel, the Republican primary for state Senate in Annapolis and South County had Don Quinn holding on to a three-vote lead over Eric Delano Knowles, 3,047 votes to 3,044 votes. The winner will face longtime incumbent Sen. John C. Astle, who was unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Anne Arundel elections officials could not say Wednesday how many absentee ballots were cast, but officials there will also begin counting absentee ballots today Thursday.

In Harford County, a race for the County Council seat that includes Havre de Grace, the east side of Abingdon and other neighborhoods saw Republican Curtis Beulah leading Monica Ann Worrell by 46 votes with about 2,000 overall votes cast. The winner will face Democrat Joseph Smith in the fall.