Nominations, please

What Marylander had the biggest impact on the state in 2014? The Sun is asking for your nominations for the 2016 Marylander of the Year. Please send them to talkback@baltimoresun.com and include "Marylander of the Year" in the subject line. We'll announce the finalists in mid-December and a winner before the end of the year. As inspiration, here's the roster of The Sun's previous honorees.

1987: Steven Muller


Johns Hopkins President Steven Muller won The Sun's inaugural award for his "relentless drive, intelligence, vision, institutional ambition, smooth tongue and grasp of the possible."

1998: Vincent DeMarco

Now well known as one of Annapolis' most effective public interest lobbyists, Vinnie DeMarco was, in The Sun's 1988 estimation, the essential element in the coalition that won support for landmark restrictions on Saturday Night Specials.

1989: Anne Tyler

Anne Tyler won the Marylander of the Year award in the same year that her novel "Breathing Lessons" won the Pulitzer Prize and that "The Accidental Tourist" became a hit movie.

1990: Robert Linowes

Montgomery County development attorney Robert Linowes won for the work of a commission he chaired that sought to create a fairer, more equitable state tax system.


The Sun honored Cal Ripken after a season in which he was the All-Star game MVP, American League MVP and Sporting News and AP Player of the Year. And he won a Gold Glove.

1992: Bea Gaddy

The Sun said Baltimore's self-designated advocate and helper for the poor, Bea Gaddy, "Others preach the Golden Rule; Bea Gaddy lives it."

1993: James W. Rouse

The Sun recognized developer James W. Rouse for the work of his Enterprise Foundation. "He makes people believe. He lends his credibility and contacts and ideas. For lack of a better label, he is called a visionary."

1994: Cardinal William Keeler


The Sun named William H. Keeler Marylander of the Year when he was elevated to cardinal by Pope John Paul II, a position that reaffirmed Baltimore's importance as the seat of American Catholicism.

1995: Kweisi Mfume

The Sun honored Kweisi Mfume when he took over leadership of the NAACP. "His whole life seems to have been mapped out for this day."

1996: Cast and crew of "Homicide"

The Sun named the cast and crew of "Homicide" its Marylanders of the Year for 1996. The show was so true to life, the editors noted, that "a real fleeing shoplifter ran onto a film location and surrendered to actors, while production executives seeking a site for a crack house stumbled into a real crack house."

1997: Nancy Grasmick, Del. Howard "Pete" Rawlings and Walter Sondheim

The biggest achievement of the 1997 legislative session was a landmark agreement to provide higher funding for Baltimore City schools in exchange for increased state oversight. The Sun recognized three people who made that happen: Walter Sondheim, Nancy Grasmick and Del. Howard "Pete" Rawlings.

1998: Peter G. Angelos

In 1998, The Sun said attorney Peter G. Angelos could easily be Marylander of the Decade. "Few have given such philanthropy, and very few have tried to exercise such influence."

1999: Freeman Hrabowski

UMBC President Freeman A. Hrabowski III earned the 1999 award for "nurturing excellence in mathematics and science among African-American men ... and public university-private industry partnerships to spur technology, job opportunities and regional development."

2000: Bill Struever

In 2000, The Sun honored developer Bill Struever because he "adopts buildings that others have discarded, neglected or marked for destruction. He sees what they want to be ... and with single-minded resolve, he helps them fulfill that potential."

2001: The Ravens

The Ravens won the Super Bowl and (collectively) Marylander of the Year in 2001.

2002: John Waters

In 2002, "Hairspray" became a Broadway smash, and John Waters became Marylander of the Year. "Suddenly there was a national spotlight shining down on a raucous, big-hearted, cross-dressing, mashed-potato-dancing version of the city's hidden, happy self."

2012: Buck Showalter

After a decade's hiatus, The Sun resumed honoring Marylanders of the Year in 2012 with Orioles manager Buck Showalter, who helped bring the team back to the post-season for the first time in 15 years.

2013: Ben Jealous

Ben Jealous was instrumental in Maryland's decisions to abolish the death penalty and enact marriage equality, but in his day job as head of the NAACP, he "brought energy, vision and focus to an organization in need of all three."

2014 Larry Hogan

Larry Hogan's improbable win in the governor's race "upended our notions about political campaigns and shook up the state's power structure in a way that will have lasting impact."

2015 Barbara Mikulski

Barbara Mikulski, the social worker from Highlandtown who became the longest-serving woman in Congress "has always had an uncommonly good ear for what the common man and woman thinks and an incomparably loud voice for repeating it to the powers-that-be."