Alcohol tax vote breakdown

The Maryland Senate voted 27-19 this week to create a new sales tax on alcohol. It will add 1 percent per year for three years to the existing 6 percent sales tax and, ultimately, is expected to raise $80 million annually. The Sun's editorials have supported the notion of an acohol tax increase — the current excise taxes haven't been increased on beer and wine in 40 years and on liquor in nearly 60 years, and whatever economic impact the increase will have on the alcohol and hospitality industry is outweighed by the benefit of being able to maintain spending on education and other top priorities. The measure's fate remains uncertain in the House of Delegates. Here's how the senators voted:


•Joanne Benson, D-Prince George's

•Joan Carter Conway, D-Baltimore

•Ulysses Currie, D-Prince George's

•Bill Ferguson, D-Baltimore

•Jennie Forehand, D-Montgomery

•Brian Frosh, D-Montgomery

•Robert Garagiola, D-Montgomery

•Lisa Gladden, D-Baltimore

•Verna Jones-Rodwell, D-Baltimore

•Edward Kasemeyer, D-Howard

•Delores Kelley, D-Baltimore County

•Nancy King, D-Montgomery

•Richard Madaleno, D-Montgomery

•Roger Manno, D-Montgomery

•Nathaniel McFadden, D-Baltimore

•Thomas Middleton, D-Charles

•Karen Montgomery, D-Montgomery

•Anthony Muse, D-Prince George's

•Douglas Peters, D-Prince George's

•Paul Pinsky, D-Prince George's

•Catherine Pugh, D-Baltimore

•Victor Ramirez, D-Prince George's

•Jamie Raskin, D-Montgomery

•James Robey, D-Howard

•James Rosapepe, D-Prince George's

•Bobby Zirkin, D-Baltimore County


•John Astle, D-Anne Arundel

•David Brinkley, R-Frederick

•James Brochin, D-Baltimore County

•Richard Colburn, R-Eastern Shore

•James DeGrange, D-Anne Arundel

•Roy Dyson, D-St. Mary's

•George Edwards, R-Western Maryland

•Joseph Getty, R-Carroll

•Barry Glassman, R-Harford

•Nancy Jacobs, R-Harford

•Allan Kittleman, R-Howard

•Kathy Klausmeier, D-Baltimore County

•James Mathias, D-Eastern Shore

•E.J. Pipkin, R-Eastern Shore

•Edward Reilly, R-Anne Arundel

•Christopher Shank, R-Washington

•Bryan Simonaire, R-Anne Arundel

•Norman Stone, D-Baltimore County

•Ronald Young, D-Frederick

Excused (absent):

•J.B. Jennings, R-Baltimore County