The Baltimore Sun was named Newspaper of the Year — and recognized as having the best website among the competitors — Friday in the annual Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association awards contest.

The Sun has been chosen Newspaper of the Year six times in the past seven years. The Washington Post won the award in 2008.


The Sun won 51 first- or second-place awards in the editorial contest among daily papers with a circulation of 75,000 or more; The Post won 13; The News Journal, based in Wilmington, Del., won 11.

Twelve of the Sun's 27 first-place award winners were also considered Best in Show, meaning they were superior to the first-place winners from the five other circulation divisions. The Sun's coverage of the Preakness and Tropical Storm Lee both garnered Best in Show designations for sports and weather articles, respectively.

The Sun also won three second-place awards for page design and art illustration among daily newspapers.

The Sun's first-place editorial winners (Best in Show winners are designated with an asterisk):

•General website excellence: Sun staff, for*

•Editorial: Peter Jensen, for "The hero of Baltimore," about former Mayor William Donald Schaefer.

•Local column, critical thinking: Jean Marbella, for "Baltimore celebrates Schaefer, and itself."

•General news story: Childs Walker, for "Best friends, forever," about two servicemen who died in action and were buried next to each other.*

•Feature story, profile: Mary Carole McCauley, for "Last dance," about the retirement of the Baltimore School for the Arts' director.

•Local government: Scott Calvert and Timothy B. Wheeler, for "City loses lead-paint funding."

•Weather, natural disasters: Sun staff, for coverage of Tropical Storm Lee

•General news photo: Algerina Perna, for "For Guard soldiers, an emotional sendoff."


•Spot news photo: Karl Merton Ferron, for "Empty Ocean City 'dodges a bullet,'" a photo capturing the resort town's experience with Hurricane Irene.*

•Feature photo: Karl Merton Ferron, for "Up, up and away," a photo of preparations for an air show.

•Sports photo: Kenneth K. Lam, for "Now, this is how you do it," from the Ravens' first practice of the season.

•Sports story: Sun staff, for coverage of the Preakness.*

•Sports feature story: Mike Klingaman, for "In sickness, in health," about former All-Pro Colts defensive tackle Fred Miller and wife, Charlene Miller.

•Business reporting: Lorraine Mirabella, for "Hiring inequity," about the recession's lasting influence on women.*

•Arts, entertainment reporting: Erik Maza, for a story about Baltimore's indie music scene, "Who needs a Grammy anyway?"

•Special section: Sun staff, for a special section after the death of William Donald Schaefer.

•Headline: Andy Knobel, for "ChA&Mps," about Texas A&M winning the NCAA women's basketball championship.

•Page One design: Anthony Conroy, for a design package on the death of Osama bin Laden.*

•Feature page design: Peter Dishal, for "The essence of Ireland."*

•Multimedia feature storytelling: Kevin Richardson and Susan Reimer, for "Living with Lou," about a man living with Lou Gehrig's disease.

•Multimedia sports storytelling: Christopher T. Assaf, for "Sights and Sounds: Baltimore Grand Prix debuts."

•Online commentary or blog: Matt Vensel, for Baltimore Sports Blitz.


•Community service and citizen involvement: Sun audience engagement team, for "Your Voices," now called the Community Blog Network.